Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Countries of the World

Countries of the World

There are about 206 countries in the world. Of these 206 countries, the sovereignty of 16 states are disputed. Only 193 are members of the United Nations, two more are classified as observer states, and eleven are not currently members of the United Nations. Russia is the largest country in the world and Vatican City is the smallest country.

List of Countries and their Capitals of the World in PDF and XLS formats.

The world map with countries.
Click to view and download larger World Map with Countries

Countries in Africa

Which are the major countries of the world?
There are five permanent members of the United Nations Security Council - the People's Republic of China, France, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States.
Each of these countries wields the veto, or the power to prevent the adoption of any resolution by the council. Going by political clout, these are major countries in the world. Among the emerging nations the BRICS - Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa - are developing economically. The European Union has 27 member nations and together these exert considerable political influence in the world.

Which is the newest country of the world?
On July 9, 2011 South Sudan seceded from Sudan following an internal referendum to become the world's newest country.

Which are the recently created countries of the world?
Through the end of the 20th century and in the first decade of the 21st century a number of countries were formed. On March 21, 1990, Namibia gained independence from South Africa. North and South Yemen merged on May 22, 1990, to form Yemen. Later that year on October 3, 1990, East Germany and West Germany also merged to form the unified Republic of Germany. The Marshall Islands, administered by the United States, became independent on September 17, 1991. On the same day, Micronesia also became independent of the United States. On January 1, 1993 Czechoslovakia was dissolved and the Czech Republic and Slovakia gained independence. On May 25, 1993, Eritrea seceded from Ethiopia and gained independence. On October 1, 1994, Palau gained independence from the United States. On May 20, 2002, Timor-Leste became independent from Indonesia and on February 17, 2008, Kosovo gained independence from Serbia.

Which countries were formed with the break up of the USSR?
The Union of Soviet Socialist Republic (USSR) was one of the mightiest countries in the world till its dissolution in 1991. With the dissolution, the Cold War ended and fifteen new states became independent.


Most of these states had declared independence before the dissolution of the USSR, though.

Which countries were formed with the break up of SFR Yugoslavia?
The Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia dissolved in the early 1990s. Five independent countries were formed out of the erstwhile nation. Croatia was formed on June 25, 1991. Slovenia also came into existence on June 25, 1991. Bosnia and Herzegovina came into being on February 29, 1992. Serbia and Montenegro, known as the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, was formed on April 17, 1992. Later, Montenegro became an independent nation on June 3, 2006 and Serbia broke away on June 5, 2006. The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, having declared its independence on September 8, 1991 did not gain recognition by the United Nations till 1993 and was recognized by the United States and Russia in 1994.


Last Update on: Nov 03, 2014

Looking for Expert Cartography / GIS Services?

Contact - Parminder Singh (+91- 9910492371 IST)

For all Mapping Needs and Business Queries

Contact - Antoine Maddox (+1 408 637 0064 PST)