Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Fiji Map

Fiji Map

Follow us on
Where is Fiji ?
Fiji is an island located in the South Pacific, about 2,000 kilometers (1,300 miles) from the coast of New Zealand. Most of the Fiji Islands were created by volcanic activity beginning 150 million years ago.

Please Enter your email id

Please Select Country

Fiji Map
The official flag of Fiji was adopted on October 10, 1970. It has sky blue ensign and the shield of arms of Fiji.

More Fiji Maps

Fiji, an archipelago in the South Pacific, is situated about 2,000 kilometers (1,300 miles) from the northern coast of New Zealand. Other nearby nations include Vanuatu, Tonga, the Samoas, Tuvalu, and the French islands New Caledonia and Wallis and Futuna. The Fijian archipelago consists of at least 332 islands and over 500 islets, altogether making up an area of 18,274 square kilometers (7,056 square miles). Just over 100 of the islands of Fiji have permanent settlements on them. The capital and largest city of Fiji is Suva.

The largest islands of Fiji are Viti Levu, where the capital, Suva, is located, and Vanua Levu. Other major islands are Taveuni, Kadavu, and the Mamanuca and Yasawa island groups.

Fiji was formed by volcanic eruptions around 150 million years ago, and has been inhabited since around the second millennium BC. European explorers arrived in Fiji in the 17th century, beginning with the Dutch and the British. Fiji became a British colony, which lasted until October 10, 1970 when it gained independence.

The population of Fiji is estimated at about 849,000 people, of which a bit more than half are native Fijians. Almost 40 percent of the population of Fiji are Indo-Fijians who came to Fiji during British rule. Other minorities include Europeans and Chinese, as well as other Pacific Islanders. Religions commonly practiced in Fiji are Christianity, Hinduism, and Islam.

Last Updated On : April 16, 2013

Largest CitySuva
Area7,056 sq mi
Official LanguageEnglish, Fijian, Fiji Hindi
CurrencyFijian dollar (FJD)
PresidentEpeli Nailatikau
Prime MinisterFrank Bainimarama