Weltkarten
Wir tun Magie Karten
Search
World Map / Weltkarte / Monaco Karte

Monaco Karte

Politische Landkarte Armenien
Die Geschichte
Disclaimer




Das Fürstentum Monaco, so der offizielle Name, wird an drei Seiten von Frankreich und an der einen, in Westeuropa gelegenen Seite an der Französischen Riviera, vom Mittelmeer umschlossen. Mit einer Fläche von 1,97 km² und 35.986 Einwohnern ist es der zweitkleinste Staat und eines der am dichtesten besiedelten Länder der Welt.

Die Geschichte von Monaco
Monacos frühe Bewohner waren die Genueser, die aus der italienischen Region Ligurien kamen, welche sich südlich vom monegassischen Territorium befindet. Die frühen griechischen Kolonisten, die um das 6. Jahrhundert vor Christus ankamen, benannten die Kolonie Monoikos, für seine berühmte Geschichte als eine Station auf der Reise des Herkules. In seinen frühen Tagen befand sich die größte Siedlung auf dem Felsen von Monaco. Die Kolonie wurde von den Römern regiert, bis das Weströmische Reich im Jahr 476 zerfiel und dann unter die Kontrolle der Ostgoten geriet. Die Römer haben das Gebiet im 6. Jahrhundert zurückerobert, jedoch war die Region umstritten und wurde irgendwann im 11. Jahrhundert zu einem ligurischen Territorium. Das Heilige Römische Reich übergab im Jahr 1191 die Macht an die Genueser.

Im Jahr 1215 errichtete die Ghibellinen Fraktion von Genua eine Festung am Felsen von Monaco und bald folgten weitere Genueser. Francesco Grimaldi von Italien drang 1297 in Monaco ein, infiltrierte die Festung und regierte sie für ein paar Jahre. Das Haus von Grimaldi und der Genueser kämpften seit vielen Jahren um die Macht über Monaco. Die Familie Grimaldi übernahm offiziell die Kontrolle, als sie das Land von Aragon kaufte. Monaco wurde im Jahre 1642 ein Protektorat Frankreichs bis zur Französischen Revolution, als es vollständig von Frankreich im Jahre 1793 übernommen wurde. Das Haus der Grimaldi wurde 1814 wieder hergestellt und Monaco wurde stattdessen ein Protektorat des Königreichs Sardinien. Monaco kehrte mit dem Vertrag von Turin im Jahr 1860 zurück unter den Schutz der Franzosen, jedoch erklärte das Volk von Monaco seine Unabhängigkeit. Frankreich kämpfte um die Macht, jedoch stimmte Monaco im Jahr 1861 zu, im Gegenzug für die Unabhängigkeit einen Teil seines Hoheitsgebietes aufzugeben.

In den 1900er Jahren etablierte sich Monaco als Reiseziel für reiche Leute, die die nicht vorhandene Besteuerung ihrer Einkommen in dem kleinen Fürstentum genossen. Monaco unterzeichnete einen weiteren Vertrag mit Frankreich, der den Schutz Frankreichs für Monaco sicherstellte. Italien drang unter der Leitung von Mussolini im Jahre 1943 in Monaco ein, bis das nationalsozialistische Deutschland an dessen Stelle trat. Seit seiner Wiederherstellung befindet sich Monaco unter der ununterbrochenen Herrschaft der Grimaldi.

Nachbarländer
Monaco wird auf drei Seiten von Frankreich begrenzt und besitzt gegenüber von Italien eine Küstenlinie entlang des Mittelmeers.

Die größten Städte
Monaco ist ein Stadtstaat, unterteilt in Bezirke, einschließlich Monaco-Ville, Monte Carlo und Fontvieille.

Geographie
Monaco ist der zweitkleinste Staat der Welt (nach Vatikanstadt) an der Südküste von Frankreich, die als die Französische Riviera bekannt ist. Monaco besteht vor allem aus Küste und erstreckt sich über eine Küstenlinie von nur 4,1 km (2,5 Meilen). Als solch ein kleines Land ist Monaco vorwiegend urban.

Monacos Gelände umfasst Mont Agel, der Heimat des höchsten Punktes in dem Land bei Chemin des Revoires, auf einer Höhe von nur 161 Metern (528 Fuß). Der längste Fluss des Landes ist Saint-Jean und Fontvieille ist ein malerischer See.

Sehenswürdigkeiten
Monaco ist am besten für Monte Carlo und sein Grand Casino, ein sehr hochwertiges und teures Casino, bekannt. Es gibt ein paar andere Casinos in Monaco, die etwas ungezwungener und typischer sind. Der Felsen von Monaco oder Monaco-Ville ist die Altstadt mit mittelalterlicher Architektur und dem Fürstenpalast zusammen mit dem Regierungsgebäude. Der Palais Princier (Fürstenpalast) wird durch Karabiner bewacht, der Leibwache der königlichen Familie. Die Wachablösungs-Zeremonie ist eine schöne Attraktion für die Besucher und Führungen durch das Schloss sind ebenfalls möglich. Die Kathedrale verfügt eine Architektur mit römischen und byzantinischen Einflüssen und ist die letzte Ruhestätte der königlichen Familie.

Eine weitere wichtige Attraktion in Monaco ist das Meeresmuseum und Aquarium, die Heimat einer beeindruckenden Sammlung von Meerestieren und Artefakten.

TRN20141222

Fakten über Monaco



FAQs and Answers on History and Geography

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."
OK
For further info please get in touch with us at
mail  mapxl@comparemails.com

Maps of World
We do magic to Maps
World Map / Monaco Map

Monaco Map

Follow us on
Where is Monaco ?
locator-Monaco
Officially known as Principality of Monaco, surrounded by France on three sides and Mediterranean sea on one side located in Western Europe on French Riviera. With an area of 0.76 sq. Miles and 35,986 population it is the second smallest state and one of the most densely populated country in the world.

Please Enter your email id

Please Select Country

Monaco Map

More Monaco Maps

Buy Monaco Maps
Monaco's early inhabitants were the Genovese, who arrived from the Italian region of Liguria, which is located to the south of Monaco's territory.
The early Greek colonists, who arrived around the 6th century BC, named the colony Monoikos, for its reputed history as a stop on the journey of Hercules. In its early days, the main settlement was on the Rock of Monaco. The colony was ruled by the Romans until the Western Roman Empire dissolved in 476, and then came under the control of the Ostrogoths. The Romans took the territory back in the 6th century, but the region was contested, eventually becoming a Ligurian territory in the 11th century. The Holy Roman Empire allowed the Genovese to maintain control in 1191.

In 1215, the Ghibellines faction of Genoa established a fortress at the Rock of Monaco, and other Genovese soon followed. Francesco Grimaldi of Italy invaded Monaco, infiltrated the fortress, and ruled it for a few years in 1297. The House of Grimaldi and the Genovese both fought over control of Monaco for many years. The Grimaldi family officially took control when they bought the land from Aragon. Monaco became a French protectorate in 1642, which it remained until the French Revolution, when it was fully taken over by France in 1793. The House of Grimaldi was restored in 1814, and Monaco became a protectorate of the Kingdom of Sardinia instead. Monaco returned to French protection with the Treaty of Turin in 1860, but the people of Monaco declared independence. France fought for control, but in 1861 Monaco agreed to give up some of its territory in return for independence.

In the 1900s, Monaco established itself as a destination for rich people, who enjoyed the lack of income tax in the small principality. Monaco signed another agreement with France that ensured French protection of Monaco. Italy invaded Monaco under the leadership of Mussolini in 1943, until Nazi Germany took its place. Since it was restored, Monaco has been under the continuous rule of the House of Grimaldi.

Neighboring Countries
Monaco is bordered on three sides by France, with coastline along the Mediterranean Sea, across which is Italy.

Major Cities
Monaco is a city-state, divided into wards, including Monaco-Ville, Monte Carlo, and Fontvieille.

Geography
Monaco is the second smallest country in the world (after Vatican City), situated along the southern coast of France, known as the French Riviera. Monaco is mostly coastal, stretching just 4.1 kilometers (2.5 miles) along the coast. As such a small country, most of Monaco's land area is urban.

Monaco's terrain includes Mont Agel, which is home to the country's highest point at Chemin des Revoires, which stands at an elevation of just 161 meters (528 feet). The country's longest river is Saint-Jean, and Fontvieille is a scenic lake.

Points of Interest
Monaco is best known for Monte Carlo and its Grand Casino, which is a very high class and expensive casino. There are a few other casinos in Monaco that are more casual and typical. The Rock of Monaco, or Monaco-Ville is the old town, with medieval architecture and the Prince's Palace, along with government buildings. Palais Princier (Prince's Palace) is guarded by Carabiners, who are the special guards of the royal family. The changing of the guard ceremony is a nice attraction for visitors, and tours of the palace are also available. The cathedral features Roman and Byzantine architectural influences, and is the final resting place of the royal family.

Another important attraction in Monaco is the Oceanographic Museum and Aquarium, which is home to an impressive collection of sea creatures and artifacts.

Transportation
Monaco does not have its own airport, but France's Nice Cote-d'Azur International is the nearest airport, and offers shuttles to Monte Carlo. Helicopter is an option for entering Monaco from the airport in Nice. Trains from cities in Italy and France are a good option for traveling to Monaco. There are tourist trains that travel across Monaco, called the Azur Express, which stop at the port, Monte Carlo, and the Old Town, among other tourist attractions.

The roads in and around Monaco are well maintained and easy to use, with major highways and some scenic roads along the edge of the sea. With two ports, Port Hercule and Port of Fontvieille, Monaco is also easily accessible by boat or ferry.

ACOD~20131128

Last Updated on : December 10, 2013


ContinentEurope
Lat Long43°43'N7°25'E
CapitalMonaco
Largest CityMonte Carlo
Official LanguageFrench
Major ReligionOrthodox Christianity is the dominant religion in Montenegro. Adherents of Orthodox Christianity in Montenegro are predominantly Montenegrins and Serbs.
Form of GovernmentUnitary constitutional principality
PresidentAlbert II ( Prince)
CurrencyEuro (EUR)
GDP$4.694 billion 2010 estimate
Calling code377
Time ZoneCET (UTC+1)
Internet TLD.mc
The official flag of Monaco was adopted on April 4, 1881. The Monaco flag consists of two horizontal stripes of red color (top) and white color (bottom) of equal width.