Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Armenia Map

Armenia Map

Follow us on
Where is Armenia ?
A landlocked mountainous country in Eurasia, Armenia is is bordered by Turkey, Georgia, the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic, Iran, Azerbaijan, and the Azerbaijani exclave of Nakhchivan.
Armenia Map
Georgia Map Georgia Map Azerbaijan Map Azerbaijan Map Turkey Map Iran Map

Please Enter your email id

Please Select Country

More Maps of Armenia

Buy Armenia Maps

Armenia is a landlocked country in Eurasia, located between Western Asia and Eastern Europe and bordered by Turkey to the west, Georgia to the north, the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic and Azerbaijan to the east, and Iran and the Azerbaijani exclave of Nakhchivan to the south. Armenia is situated in the mountains of South Caucasus in the Middle East. Armenia covers an area of 29,743 square kilometers (11,484 square miles).The capital and largest city of Armenia is Yerevan, which is home to over one million people. Other larger cities in Armenia include Gyumri, Vanadzor and Vagharshapat. Armenia is made up of ten provinces, and the special administrative district of the capital, Yerevan.

Armenia has a population of about 3,262,200 people, which is 97 percent Armenian by ethnicity. Ethnic minorities in Armenia include Yazidis and Russians among others. The official language of Armenia is Armenian, and the predominant religion is Christianity, especially the Armenian Apostolic Church, an orthodox conservative church.

Armenia is home to Biblical sites, including Mount Ararat, believed to be the landing place of Noah's Ark. After various civilizations were established in the region, the Kingdom of Armenia was founded around 600 BC. The area was conquered by various other empires, including the Byzantine Empire, the Mongol Empire, and the Ottoman Empire. The country became the Democratic Republic of Armenia on May 28, 1918, and then Armenia became part of the Soviet Union, declaring independence from it on August 23, 1990.

Last Updated On : May 30, 2014

The official flag of Armenia was adopted on August 24, 1990. The Armenian Flag consists of three horizontal bands of equal width, red on the top, blue in the middle, and orange on the bottom.
Lat Long40°11'N44°31'E
Largest CityYerevan
Official LanguageArmenian
Major ReligionRoman Catholic, Protestant (Evangelist, Methodist, other Protestant), Jehovah's Witnesses
PresidentSerzh Sargsyan
Prime MinisterHovik Abrahamyan
CurrencyDram (AMD)
GDP$10.066 billion (nominal, 2012 est.)
Calling code374
Time ZoneUTC (UTC+4)