Cartes du Monde
Actuel, Cohérentes, Crédibles

Carte des Maldives

Carte des Maldives
Description  :  Désistement
Close

Désistement :Tous les efforts ont été faits pour rendre cette image précise. Cependant Comparer Infobase limité, ses directeurs et employés ne possèdent aucune responsabilité quant à l'exactitude ou l'authenticité du même

Le drapeau officiel des Maldives est en couleurs rouge et possède un grand rectangle vert dans le milieu qui a un croissant blanc vertical.

Histoire des Maldives
Premiers colonisateurs connus des Maldives sont censés être les marins sri-lankais parfois pendant 2000 avant JC. Selon ethnographe norvégien Thor Heyerdahl, l'archipel était un arrêt au stand bien connu pour les civilisations anciennes comme les Egyptiens, les Phéniciens et les Mésopotamiens - qui étaient en route vers l'Inde et le reste des régions avoisinantes en Asie pour la négociation des marchandises.

Au cours du 3ème siècle, les Maldives ont pratiqué le bouddhisme, et il est devenu la religion dominante pendant 1000 ans. En 1153 JC, le roi bouddhiste des îles converti à l'Islam. La conversion a provoqué la violence dans les îles avec la combustion des monastères bouddhistes, monuments, Écritures, et la décapitation de moines. Le roi converti son leadership dans un sultanat, formant la première des six dynasties qui ont régné les îles.

Marco Polo a découvert les îles au cours de l'un de ses nombreux voyages et l'a nommé "Fleur des Indes," pour sa beauté naturelle. Cela a attiré beaucoup d'Européens à la région.

En 1558, les Portugais furent les premiers occidentaux à établir une colonie sur les îles, mais ils ont ensuite été chassés par un dirigeant local en 1573. Au cours de la 16ème aux 17ème siècles, les Hollandais et les Britanniques se sont battus pour le contrôle mais il était le dernier qui régné à la fin du 18ème siècle.

Les Maldives est ensuite devenu un protectorat britannique de 1886 à 1965, lorsque les îles ont acquis la pleine indépendance. Le Sultanat a été aboli et en 1968, les Maldives a élu son premier président.

La géographie
Les Maldives est située en Asie du Sud, sur l'océan Indien et situé au sud-sud-ouest de l'Inde. Il est un archipel de 1192 îles de corail avec 26 atolls sur une superficie de 90 000 km², ce qui en fait l'un des pays les plus dispersées dans le monde.

Les atolls sont constitués de récifs coralliens vivants et des bancs de sable, et la terre avec une altitude moyenne de 1,5 m au-dessus du niveau de la mer - faisant l'archipel du pays plus bas sur la terre. Le point le plus élevé dans les Maldives est seulement à 2,4 mètres.

Sur les îles dans les atolls, seulement environ 5 à 10 sont habitées, avec environ 20-60 petites îles inhabitées.

Le système politique
Les Maldives sont une république constitutionnelle présidentielle unitaire avec le Président par intérim de chef d'Etat et chef du gouvernement. Le président détient la position la plus élevée dans le gouvernement, est élu dans le bureau par le public, et sert un terme de 5 ans avec une limite de 2 mandats consécutifs. Un vice-président est également élu dans le bureau pour une durée de 5 ans.

Le pouvoir exécutif est exercé par le gouvernement, qui est dirigé par le Président.

Les Maldives possèdent également son propre gouvernement local, composé du Conseil Atoll qui administre chacun des 26 atolls. Chaque île habitée est régie par un Conseil de l'île, dont les membres sont élus dans le bureau par les résidents de l'île qu'ils traitent. Les membres du Conseil Atoll, cependant, sont élus par les membres du Conseil de l'île.

Voyager
Le tourisme est la plus grande industrie dans les Maldives. Les gens de partout dans le monde sont attirés par les lagons cristallins et les plages de sable blanc - ce qui rend pour une escapade de vacances idéale pour les couples romantiques et les familles. Les Maldives sont également considérées comme la première destination au monde pour les nouveaux mariés.

Parmi les îles les plus populaires dans les Maldives sont l'île Alimatha et la Atoll d'Ari Sud. L'île Alimatha est sur l'atoll Vaavu situé dans la partie orientale de l'archipel, et se vante de classe mondiale plongée, snorkeling, et de superbes installations. Il possède une plage de centre qui est de renommée mondiale, et projette l'image de l'escapade ultime Maldives avec ses bungalows sur pilotis sur les eaux et son atmosphère 5 étoiles.

Le Atoll d'Ari Sud abrite le plus luxueux dans les Maldives - qui est le Sun Island Resort and Spa. Les villas et bungalows sont situés sur la plage ou les lagunes, et dispose des meilleurs logements dans l'archipel.

Naifaru est également une autre île populaire, mais surtout pour les couples romantiques - il a des eaux bleu cristal, les plages blanches, et les montagnes de sable. Et l'un des avantages de l'île est son grand choix d'offres d'achat.

Parmi les sites de plongée les plus populaires dans les Maldives sont le HP Reef ou Rainbow Reef connue pour sa vie marine abondante emballée avec récifs vives et aux couleurs vives, et le Banana Reef - qui est considéré comme le plus recherché après une plongée site dans l'archipel.

L’éducation
Il y a 2 systèmes d'enseignement primaire dans les Maldives - l'ancien système est le système islamique de la tradition avec Dhivehi que le milieu de l'enseignement, et l'autre système avec l'anglais comme langue d'enseignement. La mise en œuvre de ce dernier système a conduit à l'augmentation du taux d'alphabétisation de l'archipel au cours des années. Aujourd'hui, le taux d'alphabétisation des adultes des Maldives est de 98,82%.

L'éducation formelle commence à l'école primaire, mais les îles dépendent en grande partie sur les enseignants expatriés en raison de son grand nombre d'enseignants locaux qui ont peu de qualifications. Il y a un petit nombre d'établissements d'enseignement supérieur dans les Maldives, mais plupart des personnes qui se rendent au collège ou à l'université souvent obtenir leur éducation dans des pays étrangers.

Les sujets divers
  • Parce que les Maldives ont de fortes croyances islamiques, les boissons alcoolisées sont interdites en dehors des stations. Quant à dressing, deux pièces bikinis sont seulement autorisés dans les hôtels et centres de villégiature.
  • Ils ont aussi une forte croyance dans la superstition et le surnaturel - qui comprend la magie blanche et noire.
  • Les Maldives est le plus petit pays musulman du monde, et le plus petit pays d'Asie.

AtollPopulationCapitale
Addu18 026Hithadhoo
Aliff Aliff5 776Rasdhoo
Aliff Daalu Mahibadhoo
Baa9 578Eydhafushi
Daalu4 967Kudahuvadhoo
Faafu3 765Magoodhoo
Gaafu Aliff8 262Villingili
Gaafu Daalu11 013Thinadhoo
Haa Aliff13 495Dhidhdhoo
Haa Daalu16 237Kulhudhuffushi
Kaafu15 441Thulusdhoo
Laamu11 990Fonadhoo
Laviyani9 190Naifaru
Male103 693Male
Meemu4 710Muli
Naviyani7 636Fuamulaku
Noonu10 015Manadhoo
Raa14 756U'ngoofaaru
Shaviyani11 940Funadhoo
Thaa8 493Veymandoo
Waavu1 606Felidhoo
21 divisions298 968

Dernière mise à jour: Juin 11, 2015

Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Maldives Map

Maldives Map

Search
Follow us on
Where is Maldives ?
locator-Maldives
Maldives, an Island nation, is also known as Maldive Islands, is located in the Indian Ocean. It is made by two chains of twenty-six atolls that points north-south off India's Lakshadweep Islands, between Minicoy Island and Chagos Archipelago.
Maldives Map

More Maldives Maps

Maldives History
The Maldives' earliest known colonizers are believed to be Sri Lankan seafarers sometime during 2000BC. According to Norwegian ethnographer Thor Heyerdahl, the archipelago was a well-known pit stop for ancient civilizations such as the Egyptians, the Phoenicians, and the Mesopotamians - who were en route to India and the rest of the surrounding regions in Asia for the trading of goods.
During the 3rd century, the Maldives practiced Buddhism, and it became the dominant religion for 1,000 years. In 1153 AD, the Buddhist King of the islands converted to the Islam faith. The conversion brought about violence in the islands with the burning of Buddhist monasteries, monuments, scriptures, and the beheading of monks. The King converted his leadership into a Sultanate, forming the very first of the 6 dynasties that ruled the islands.

Marco Polo discovered the islands during one of his many voyages and named it "Flower of the Indies," for its natural beauty. This attracted many Europeans to the region.

In 1558, the Portuguese were the first Westerners to establishment a settlement on the islands but they were later driven out by a local leader in 1573. During the 16th the 17th centuries, the Dutch and the British fought for control but it was the latter who reigned in the late 18th century.

The Maldives then became a British protectorate from 1886 to 1965, when the islands gained full independence. The Sultanate was abolished and in 1968, the Maldives' elected its first president.

Geography
The Maldives is located in South Asia, on the Indian Ocean and situated to the south to southwest of India. It is an archipelago of 1,192 coral islands with 26 atolls over an area of 90,000 sq.km., which makes it one of the most dispersed countries in the world.

The atolls consist of live coral reefs and sand bars, and land with an average elevation of 1.5m above sea level - making the archipelago the lowest country on earth. The highest point in the Maldives is only at 2.4 meters.

Out of the islands in the atolls, only about 5 to 10 are inhabited, with about 20-60 uninhabited smaller islands.

Polities
The Maldives is a unitary presidential constitutional republic with the President acting as head of state and head of government. The President holds the highest position in government, is elected into office by the public, and serves a 5-year term with a limit of 2 consecutive terms. A Vice-President is also elected into office for a 5-year term.

Executive power is exercised by the government, which is headed by the President.

The Maldives also has its own Local Government, comprised of the Atoll Council that administers each of the 26 atolls. Each inhabited island is governed by an Island Council, whose members are elected into office by the residents of the island that they handle. The Atoll Council members, however, are elected by the Island Council members.

Travel
Tourism is the largest industry in the Maldives. People from all over the world are attracted to the archipelago's crystal clear lagoons and powder white sandy beaches - which makes for the perfect holiday getaway for romantic couples and families. The Maldives is also considered to be the world's top destination for honeymooners.

Among the most popular islands in the Maldives are the Alimatha Island and the South Ari Atoll. Alimatha Island is on the Vaavu Atoll located in the eastern side of the archipelago, and boasts of world-class diving, snorkeling, and great facilities. It has a center beach that's world renowned, and projects the image of the ultimate Maldives getaway with its bungalows perched on stilts over the waters and its 5-star atmosphere.

The South Ari Atoll is home to the most luxurious resort in the Maldives - which is the Sun Island Resort and Spa. The villas and bungalows are located on the beach or the lagoons, and boasts of the best accommodation in the archipelago.

Naifaru is also another popular island but mostly for romantic couples - it has crystal blue waters, white silver beaches, and sand mountains. And one of the island's perks is its large selection of shopping offerings.

Among the most popular diving sites in the Maldives are the HP Reef or Rainbow Reef known for its abundant marine life packed with vivid and brightly-colored reefs, and the Banana Reef - which is considered to be the most sought after diving site in the archipelago.

Education
There are 2 primary education systems in the Maldives - the older system is the tradition Islamic system with Dhivehi as the medium of instruction, and the other system with English as the medium of education. The implementation of the latter system has led to the archipelago's literacy rate increase over the years. Today, the Maldives' adult literacy rate is 98.82%.

Formal education starts at primary school but the islands depend largely on expatriate teachers due to its large number of local teachers who have few qualifications. There is a small number of higher education institutions in the Maldives but most of those who proceed to college or university often get their education in foreign countries.

Trivia
  • Because the Maldives has strong Islamic beliefs, alcoholic drinks are prohibited outside resorts. As for dressing, two-piece bikinis are also only allowed within hotels and resorts.
  • They also have a strong belief in superstition and the supernatural - which includes white and black magic.
  • The Maldives is the smallest Muslim country in the world, and the smallest country in Asia.

AtollPopulationCapital
Addu18,026Hithadhoo
Aliff Aliff5,776Rasdhoo
Aliff DaaluMahibadhoo
Baa9,578Eydhafushi
Daalu4,967Kudahuvadhoo
Faafu3,765Magoodhoo
Gaafu Aliff8,262Villingili
Gaafu Daalu11,013Thinadhoo
Haa Aliff13,495Dhidhdhoo
Haa Daalu16,237Kulhudhuffushi
Kaafu15,441Thulusdhoo
Laamu11,990Fonadhoo
Laviyani9,190Naifaru
Male103,693Male
Meemu4,710Muli
Naviyani7,636Fuamulaku
Noonu10,015Manadhoo
Raa14,756U'ngoofaaru
Shaviyani11,940Funadhoo
Thaa8,493Veymandoo
Waavu1,606Felidhoo
21 divisions298,968
Last Updated : January 03, 2015


The official flag of Maldives is in red color and has a large green rectangle in the middle that has a vertical white crescent.
ContinentAsia
Lat Long4.166667, 73.5
CapitalMal
Largest CityMal
Official LanguageMaldivian (Dhivehi)
Major ReligionIslam (Sunni Muslim)- 99.9% (official)
National day26 July (1965)
Form of GovernmentUnitary presidential constitutional republic
PresidentAbdulla Yameen
Vice PresidentMohamed Jameel Ahmed
CurrencyMaldivian Rufiyaa (MVR)
GDP$2.841 billion 2011 estimate
Calling code960
Time ZoneMVT (UTC+5)
Internet TLD.mv
Official Website52



Target5.5 Million

Visitors with us

Advertise on Mapsofworld.com

Contact us: +91 9871399017, himanshu@infobase.in

Looking for Expert Cartography / GIS Services?

Contact - Parminder Singh (+91- 9910492371 IST)

For all Mapping Needs and Business Queries

Contact - Antoine Maddox (+1 408 637 0064 PST)