Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Russia Map

Russia Map

Follow us on
Mapsofworld Facebook Icon Mapsofworld Twitter Icon Mapsofworld Pinterest Icon
Where isRussia ?
Russia Globe Locator
The Russian Federation or Russia, is a country situated in northern Eurasia. Dissected by the Arctic Circle, it is a federal semi-presidential republic. Being the largest land mass in the world, it is bordered by fourteen countries including Norway, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Belarus, Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, China, Mongolia, and North Korea. Russia also shares maritime borders with Japan by the Sea of Okhotsk, and the United States by the Bering Strait.
Russia Map
USA Map Norway Map Sweden Map Finland Map Denmark Map Denmark Map Denmark Map Estonia Map Latvia Map Lithuania Map Germany Map Poland Map Netherlands Map Belarus Map Ukraine Map Moldova Map Turkey Map Georgia Map Armenia Map Azerbaijan Map Iran Map Turkmenistan Map Uzbekistan Map Kazakhstan Map Kyrgyzstan Map China Map Mongolia Map China Map South Korea Map North Korea Map Japan Map
In terms of area, Russia is the largest country in the world, spanning over an area of 6,592,800 square miles. It is, however, the west and the south of Russia which are far more urbanized and populated than the rest of the country. The major cities of Russia are Moscow, Labins, Rostov-on-Don, Omsk, Kazan, Samara, Ekaterinburg (Yekaterinburg), Novosibirsk, Saint Petersburg, Chelyabinsk and Nizhny Novgorod. The Trans-Siberian railway is the longest railway in the world which connects Moscow with the far eastern fringes of Russia and covers the entire Siberian plateau. Other important points of interest plotted on the map include the Valley of Geysers from the east, Lake Baikal in the south and the Red Square, Russian Research Institute, the Hermitage Museum, Lenin Mausoleum and the Kremlin to the west of Russia.

More Russia Maps

Eurasian nomads have lived in Russia since at least 35,000 years ago. Part of Russia, known as Scythia in classical antiquity, had frequent interactions with Greek civilizations. In the eighth century BC, the Ancient Greeks had strong trade relations with parts of Russia.

Russian History
The Rurik Dynasty, beginning in 862, founded the first East Slavic State, Kievan Rus. Through Kiev's trade relations with Scandinavia and the Byzantine Empire, Kiev began to be influenced by these surrounding regions. Byzantine and Slavic cultures fused, and a Slavic version of the Eastern Orthodox religion formed. As the Norse grew in size, their influence grew in the region of Kiev as well, overtaking the Slav culture and absorbing the Greek Christian influences over the tenth century. Know More...

Located in North Asia, Russia is spread over a very large portion of the continent, and is the largest country in the entire world. Russia borders many countries: Azerbaijan, Belarus, China, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Kazakhstan, North Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Mongolia, Norway, Poland, and Ukraine. Russia also has a long coastline along the Arctic and North Pacific Oceans, and several smaller seas, including the Baltic, Black, and Caspian Seas.

As such a large nation, Russia has a wide variety of landscapes and natural features. The majority of Russia is made up of plains, steppes and forests, and the northern coast consists of tundra. The major mountain ranges in Russia are located toward the south, and include the Caucasus, Ural, and Altai ranges. Know More...

Russia is a semi-presidential republic, with both a president, elected by popular vote, and a prime minister, appointed by the president. Russia's legislative branch is a bicameral Federal Assembly, divided into the upper house, the Federation of Council, and lower house, the State Duma.

Russia is separated into eighty-three smaller divisions, called federal subjects. There are forty-six provinces in Russia, known as oblasts, twenty-one republics, which enjoy a fairly high degree of autonomy, nine territories, or krais, four autonomous districts (okrugs), two federal cities (Moscow and Saint Petersburg), and one autonomous oblast.

Russia's ancient cities form what is known as the Golden Ring, a circle of each of the most important cities from ancient Russia. The world-famous Trans-Siberian Railway is a popular way of getting around the huge country.

Moscow and Saint Petersburg are the most frequently visited cities in Russia, and contain many historical sites, works of art, and unique architecture for which Russia is known. Saint Basil's Cathedral, as well as several other churches and cathedrals, government buildings, and the Moscow Kremlin, are ornate works of art that amaze many travelers every year. Juxtaposed to these unusual structures, Soviet-style buildings, like skyscrapers, are found all around Moscow.

Despite perceptions about Russia's cold harsh weather, there are warm travel destinations in Russia as well, like cities along the Black Sea that have warmer weather and beach resorts.

Russia's education system is free to Russian citizens and managed by the Ministry of Education through regional administrators. Private school educations are available, but students generally attend public schools until university, when some then choose private education.

Students attend a compulsory eleven-year course for their general education, which is divided into elementary education, middle, and then senior education. These are usually all together at one school. After the first nine years of education, students may choose to attend vocational training for their final two years.

Around half of all Russians move on to higher education, attending one of many public or private schools around the country. Russia's university system is undergoing changes to begin following the model of the Bologna Process, like the majority of European countries.

Russia is often called Mother Russia or the Motherland.
The Russian language uses the Cyrillic script as its alphabet.
Around 160 ethnic groups are found around Russia.
Vodka is considered Russia's national drink - the word vodka is derived from the word for water.


New Map of Russia; Crimea as part of Russia New Russia Map

Last Updated On : July 29 ,2015

Flag of Russia
The Flag of Russia is a tricolor with three equal horizontal stripes of white at the top, blue in middle and red at the bottom. Russian Flag was adopted on 11 December 1993.

Official Name Russian Federation
ContinentAsia and Europe
Lat Long60 00 N, 100 00 E
Largest CityMoscow
Area17,098,242 sq km
Population142,423,773 (July 2015 est.)
Official LanguageRussian
Major ReligionRussian Orthodox 15-20%, Muslim 10-15%, other Christian 2% (2006 est.)
National dayRussia Day, 12 June (1990)
Form of GovernmentFederal Semi-Presidential Constitutional Republic
PresidentVladimir Vladimirovich Putin
Prime MinisterDmitry Anatolyevich Medvedev
CurrencyRussian Ruble (RUB)
GDP$3.458 trillion (2015 Est.)
Calling code+7
Time Zone(UTC+2 to +12)
Internet, .su, .??

Target5.5 Million

Visitors with us

Advertise on

Contact us: +91 9871399011,

Looking for Expert Cartography / GIS Services?

Contact - Kartik Suri (+91- 9910492371 IST)

For all Mapping Needs and Business Queries

Contact - Antoine Maddox (+1 408 637 0064 PST)