Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Sudan Map

Sudan Map

Follow us on
Where is Sudan ?
Situated in northern Africa, Republic of Sudan shares its borders with Egypt to the north, the Red Sea to the northeast, Eritrea and Ethiopia to the east, South Sudan to the south, the Central African Republic to the southwest, Chad to the west, and Libya to the northwest.
Sudan Map Egypt Map Libya Map Eritrea  Map Ethiopia Map South Sudan Map Central African Republic Map Chad Map Saudi Arabia Map

Please Enter your email id

Please Select Country

More Maps of Sudan

The Republic of Sudan is a country located in northeastern Africa, bordered by Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, South Sudan, the Central African Republic, Chad, and Libya. Sudan has coastline along the Red Sea. Sudan has an area of 1,886,068 square kilometers (728,215 square miles), making it the sixteenth largest country in the world.

The capital of Sudan is Khartoum, and the largest city in Sudan is Omdurman. The total population of Sudan numbers about 30,900,000. Sudan is part of the Arab World, and is considered part of the Middle East. Both Arabic and English are official languages of Sudan, and Islam the majority religion, with about 97 percent of the population.

Sudan has a long history dating back to the eighth millennium BC and the region was ruled by the Kingdom of Kush. After a period of rule by the United Kingdom and Egypt, Sudan gained independence on January 1, 1956. Sudan faced civil wars between the north and the south from independence until 2011, when on July 9, South Sudan declared independence from Sudan. War in the region of Sudan called Darfur began in the 1970s and was declared a genocide in 2004, when international authorities stepped in. Sudan also has strained relations with some of its neighboring countries.

Sudan is made up of seventeen states, and further divided into districts. The regions of Sudan are the central and northern states, Darfur on the west, the Eastern Front, Abyei, and South Kurdufan and Blue Nile states.

Culture and Heritage
Sudan is a multicultural nation that integrates the practices of almost 578 tribes who speak in 145 various languages. The major religion in Sudan is Sunni sect of Islam, which is practiced by 70 percent people. There are other religions such as Christianity that is followed by 5 percent people mostly in Khartoum and in south. 25 percent of people in Sudan practice indigenous religions. The indigenous Africans of Sudan amount for 52 percent of total population, the Arabs are 39 percent and the Bejas make up 6 percent. The music of Sudan is a unique as well as rich one. Of all the musical genres of Sudan the modern tribal music is the most prominent one. The conventional dress of Sudan is called jalabia.

There are plenty of tourist attractions in Sudan. Some of them may be mentioned as below:
  • Nile Street
  • Souq an-Niswaan
  • Dinder National Park
  • Western Sudan
  • Red Sea
  • Southern Sudan

Last Updated On : July 08, 2014

The ensign of Sudan comprises a parallel banner with three colors - white, red, and black.
Lat Long15°38'N032°32'E
Largest CityOmdurman
Official LanguageArabic and English ( official ), Nubian, Ta Bedawie, Fur
Major ReligionSunni Muslim, small Christian minority
National day1 January 1956 (from Egypt and the UK)
Form of GovernmentFederal presidential republic
PresidentOmar al-Bashir (NCP)
Vice PresidentBakri Hassan Saleh
CurrencySudanese Pound
GDP$86.67 billion (2012 est.)
Calling code249
Time Zone(UTC+3)