Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / EFTA Member Countries

EFTA Member Countries

Map Of EFTA Member Countries
Description : Map shows EFTA Members Countries in World Map. Disclaimer

EFTA member countries Map shows a world map, where the members of EFTA have been shown using purple color. EFTA stands for European Free Trade Association (EFTA).
The Association was established on May 3, 1960 as an alternative for European states that did not join the European Union. It was established by Austria, Denmark, Great Britain, Norway, Portugal, Sweden and Switzerland. The EFTA Convention was signed on January 4, 1960 in Stockholm by seven states. The current members of EFTA are Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland. EFTA began with goals of establishing free trade among members and to seek a broader economic union with the rest of Western Europe.

EFTA comprises of institutions such as the Secretariat, the EFTA Council, the EFTA Surveillance Authority and the EFTA Court. The headquarters of the EFTA Secretariat are in Geneva, Switzerland.

Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway signed an Agreement on the European Economic area (EEA) in 1992. In entered into force in 1994. The headquarters of the EFTA Surveillance Authority are in Brussels, Belgium. The EFTA Court has its headquarters in Luxembourg. The EFTA Surveillance Authority's function is to regulate the European Commission's role as "guardian of the treaties" for the EFTA countries.
  EFTA Member Countries  
StateOfficial nameCapitalAccessionPopulationArea (km²)GDP in millions (PPP)
IcelandRepublic of IcelandReykjavík1 January 197032000010300011837
LiechtensteinPrincipality of LiechtensteinVaduz1 January 199134247160.44160
NorwayKingdom of NorwayOslo3 May 19604721600385155255505
SwitzerlandSwiss Confederation*Bern3 May 1960759140041285325305

  EFTA General Secretaries  
Years PeriodSecretaries NameNationality
Since 2012Kristinn F. ArnasonIceland
2006-2012 Kare BrynNorway
2000–2006 William RossierSwitzerland
1994–2000 Kjartan JóhannssonIceland
1988–1994 Georg ReischAustria
1981–1988 Per KleppeNorway
1976–1981 Charles MüllerSwitzerland
1972–1975 Bengt RabaeusSweden
1965–1972 Sir John CoulsonUnited Kingdom
1960–1965 Frank E. FigguresUnited Kingdom

  Other Links  

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at
mail  [email protected]