What countries have won the Miss Universe titles? - Answers

Answers » World » What countries have won the Miss Universe titles?

What countries have won the Miss Universe titles?

5/5 - (3 votes)
5/5 - (3 votes)

World Map depicting Miss Universe winners

Miss Universe Organization has been hosting the Miss Universe beauty pageant since 1952. As a mark to honor women- the epitome of beauty and brain, this pageant is an annual event and invites participants from all over the world. The first Miss Universe event was hosted at Long Beach, California where the title was won by Armi Kuusela from Finland.

The crown is held by the winner for one year until the successor is decided. At the end of the ceremony, the preceding winner crowns the new winner. Owing to the popularity if the contest, the authorities have provided a website which provides the details of the application process to the procedure and duration of the competition.

The pageant is beyond the beauty aspect. The winners, considered as idols for the society, have a social responsibility- spreading awareness about the social causes such as the importance of hygiene, education, gender quality, health, peace. The winners become the medium of bringing about a positive change in the society.

Among the top winners are the United States, holding eight titles since the inception of the competition. It is followed by Venezuela with a total of seven titles and Puerto Rico with five titles.

Here is a list of all the Miss Universe winners along with the country they belong to and year of their crowning.

Edition Miss Universe Country
2012 Olivia Culpo United States
1997 Brook Lee United States
1995 Chelsi Smith United States
1980 Shawn Weatherly United States
1967 Sylvia Hitchcock United States
1960 Linda Bement United States
1956 Carol Morris United States
1954 Miriam Stevenson United States
2013 Gabriela Isler Venezuela
2009 Stefanía Fernández Venezuela
2008 Dayana Mendoza Venezuela
1996 Alicia Machado Venezuela
1986 Bárbara Palacios Venezuela
1981 Irene Sáez Venezuela
1979 Maritza Sayalero Venezuela
2006 Zuleyka Rivera Puerto Rico
2001 Denise Quiñones Puerto Rico
1993 Dayanara Torres Puerto Rico
1985 Deborah Carthy-Deu Puerto Rico
1970 Marisol Malaret Puerto Rico
2015 Pia Wurtzbach Philippines
1973 Margarita Moran Philippines
1969 Gloria Diaz Philippines
1984 Yvonne Ryding Sweden
1966 Margareta Arvidsson Sweden
1955 Hillevi Rombin Sweden
2017 Demi-Leigh Nel-Peters South Africa
1978 Margaret Gardiner South Africa
2016 Iris Mittenaere France
1953 Christiane Martel France
2014 Paulina Vega Colombia
1958 Luz Marina Zuluaga Colombia
2010 Ximena Navarrete Mexico
1991 Lupita Jones Mexico
2007 Riyo Mori Japan
1959 Akiko Kojima Japan
2005 Natalie Glebova Canada
1982 Karen Baldwin Canada
2004 Jennifer Hawkins Australia
1972 Kerry Anne Wells Australia
2000 Lara Dutta India
1994 Sushmita Sen India
1998 Wendy Fitzwilliam Trinidad and Tobago
1977 Janelle Commissiong Trinidad and Tobago
1988 Porntip Nakhirunkanok Thailand
1965 Apasra Hongsakula Thailand
1975 Anne Marie Pohtamo Finland
1952 Armi Kuusela Finland
1968 Martha Vasconcellos Brazil
1963 Iêda Maria Vargas Brazil
2011 Leila Lopes Angola
2003 Amelia Vega Dominican Republic
2002 Justine Pasek Panama
1999 Mpule Kwelagobe Botswana
1992 Michelle McLean Namibia
1990 Mona Grudt Norway
1989 Angela Visser Netherlands
1987 Cecilia Bolocco Chile
1983 Lorraine Downes New Zealand
1976 Rina Messinger Israel
1974 Amparo Muñoz Spain
1971 Georgina Rizk Lebanon
1964 Corinna Tsopei Greece
1962 Norma Nolan Argentina
1961 Marlene Schmidt Germany
1957 Gladys Zender Peru


Know more about the world:

Related Maps:

World Map
World Map
US Map
US Map
Puerto Rico Map
Puerto Rico Map
Venezuela Map
Venezuela Map

Recent Posts