What countries have won the Nobel Peace Prize? - Answers

Answers » World » What countries have won the Nobel Peace Prize?

What countries have won the Nobel Peace Prize?

5/5 - (4 votes)
5/5 - (4 votes)

Infographic elaborating Nobel Peace Prize Winners

Peace, as we know, is an ‘elusive project’ that aspires to make this world a better place to live in. Peace is the umbrella term for harmonizing mankind and eliminating warfare or malicious acts that create unrest in the world. Sadly, the world was never peaceful, but today it has become intolerant and there is ardent need to restore peace.

Ever since its inception 116 years ago, Nobel Peace Prize attempts to honor the maestros who have initiated a positive change on humanitarian grounds. Nobel Peace Prize is one out of the six Nobel prizes awarded. Other categories of Nobel prizes include medicine, physics, literature, economics, and chemistry.

First awarded 116 years ago, Nobel Peace Prize is awarded for the outstanding contribution in to society. It is annual award ceremony with a few exceptions when the award was not presented. Among the Nobel prizes, it is the only Peace prize that is awarded in Norway. Rest are awarded in Sweden.

The 2018 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to Denis Mukwege of Belgian Congo and Nadia Murad of Iraq, who have been noticed for their efforts towards ending sexual violence during a war. It was presented by 2017. Denis Mukwege Mukwege gave a speech at the UN in 2012, calling out the mass rape which prevails in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. On the other hand, Nadia Murad has herself been a survivor of human trafficking, and is now a UN Goodwill Ambassador. Numerous activists around the world are highly appreciative of the awards and believe that the most deserving people have won the prize.

Following is the tabular representation of all the Nobel Peace Prize winners.

Year Name Country
2018 Nadia Murad Iraq
2018 Denis Mukwege Belgian Congo
2016 Juan Manuel Santos Colombia
2014 Kailash Satyarthi India
2014 Malala Yousafzai Pakistan
2011 Ellen Johnson Sirleaf Liberia
2011 Leymah Gbowee Liberia
2011 Tawakkul Karman Yemen
2010 Liu Xiaobo China
2009 Barack Obama United States
2008 Martti Ahtisaari Finland
2007 Al Gore United States
2006 Muhammad Yunus Bangladesh
2005 Mohamed ElBaradei Egypt
2004 Wangari Muta Maathai Kenya
2003 Shirin Ebadi Iran
2002 Jimmy Carter United States
2001 Kofi Annan Ghana
2000 Kim Dae-jung South Korea
1998 John Hume United Kingdom
1998 David Trimble United Kingdom
1997 Jody Williams United States
1996 Carlos Filipe Ximenes Belo Timor-Leste
1996 José Ramos-Horta Timor-Leste
1995 Joseph Rotblat United Kingdom
1994 Yitzhak Rabin Israel
1994 Shimon Peres Israel
1994 Yasser Arafat Palestine
1993 Nelson Mandela South Africa
1993 Frederik Willem de Klerk South Africa
1992 Rigoberta Menchú Guatemala
1991 Aung San Suu Kyi Burma
1990 Mikhail Gorbachev Soviet Union
1989 Tenzin Gyatso,14th Dalai Lama India
1987 Óscar Arias Costa Rica
1986 Elie Wiesel United States
1984 Desmond Tutu South Africa
1983 Lech Wałęsa Poland
1982 Alva Myrdal Sweden
1982 Alfonso García Robles Mexico
1980 Adolfo Pérez Esquivel Argentina
1979 Mother Teresa India
1978 Menachem Begin Israel
1978 Mohamed Anwar Al-Sadat Egypt
1976 Betty Williams United Kingdom
1976 Mairead Corrigan United Kingdom
1975 Andrei Sakharov Soviet Union
1974 Seán MacBride Ireland
1974 Eisaku Satō Japan
1973 Henry Kissinger United States
1973 Lê Đức Thọ Vietnam
1972 Not awarded
1971 Willy Brandt West Germany
1970 Norman E. Borlaug United States
1968 René Cassin France
1967 Not awarded
1966 Not awarded
1964 Martin Luther King, Jr. United States
1962 Linus Pauling United States
1961 Dag Hammarskjöld Sweden
1960 Albert Lutuli South Africa
1959 Philip Noel-Baker United Kingdom
1958 Dominique Pire Belgium
1957 Lester Bowles Pearson Canada
1956 Not awarded
1955 Not awarded
1953 George C. Marshall United States
1952 Albert Schweitzer France
1951 Léon Jouhaux France
1950 Ralph Bunche United States
1949 The Lord Boyd-Orr United Kingdom
1948 Not awarded because “there was no suitable living candidate.”
1946 Emily Greene Balch United States
1946 John Raleigh Mott United States
1945 Cordell Hull United States
1943 Not awarded due to World War II.
1942 Not awarded due to World War II.
1941 Not awarded due to World War II.
1940 Not awarded due to World War II.
1939 Not awarded due to World War II.
1937 Viscount Cecil of Chelwood United Kingdom
1936 Carlos Saavedra Lamas Argentina
1935 Carl von Ossietzky Germany
1934 Arthur Henderson United Kingdom
1933 Sir Norman Angell United Kingdom
1932 Not awarded
1931 Jane Addams United States
1931 Nicholas Murray Butler United States
1930 Nathan Söderblom Sweden
1929 Frank B. Kellogg[A] United States
1928 Not awarded
1927 Ferdinand Buisson France
1927 Ludwig Quidde Germany
1926 Aristide Briand France
1926 Gustav Stresemann Germany
1925 Charles G. Dawes United States
1925 Sir Austen Chamberlain United Kingdom
1924 Not awarded
1923 Not awarded
1922 Fridtjof Nansen Norway
1921 Hjalmar Branting Sweden
1921 Christian Lange Norway
1920 Léon Bourgeois France
1919 Woodrow Wilson United States
1918 Not awarded due to World War I.
1916 Not awarded due to World War I.
1915 Not awarded due to World War I.
1914 Not awarded due to World War I.
1913 Henri La Fontaine Belgium
1912 Elihu Root United States
1911 Alfred Fried Austria
1911 Tobias Asser Netherlands
1909 Paul Henri d’Estournelles de Constant France
1909 Auguste Beernaert Belgium
1908 Klas Pontus Arnoldson Sweden
1908 Fredrik Bajer Denmark
1907 Louis Renault France
1907 Ernesto Teodoro Moneta Italy
1906 Theodore Roosevelt United States
1905 Bertha von Suttner Austria
1903 William Randal Cremer United Kingdom
1902 Élie Ducommun Switzerland
1902 Charles Albert Gobat Switzerland
1901 Frédéric Passy France
1901 Henry Dunant Switzerland

Here is a list of the organizations that have won the Nobel Peace Prize.

Year organization/ unions Headquarters/Founded in
1910 Permanent International Peace Bureau Geneva
1917 International Committee of the Red Cross Geneva
1944 International Committee of the Red Cross Geneva
1963 International Committee of the Red Cross Geneva
1963 League of Red Cross Societies Geneva
1997 International Campaign to Ban Landmines Geneva
1999 Médecins Sans Frontières Geneva
2017 International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons Geneva
1954 Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees Geneva
1969 International Labour Organization Geneva
1981 Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees Geneva
2007 Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change Geneva
1965 United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) New York City
1988 United Nations Peace-Keeping Forces New York City
2001 United Nations New York City
1938 Nansen International Office for Refugees London
1977 Amnesty International London
1985 International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War Boston
2012 European Union Brussels
1995 Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs Toronto
2006 Grameen Bank Dhaka
1947 Friends Service Council Philadelphia
2013 Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons The Hague
2015 Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet Tunisia
2005 International Atomic Energy Agency Vienna
1947 American Friends Service Committee Washington, DC
1904 Institute of International Law Ghent

Related Maps:

US Map
US Map
UK Map
UK Map
France Map
France Map

Recent Posts