Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / APEC Member Economies Map

APEC Member Economies Map

APEC Member Economies Map
Description : Map shows the APEC Member Countries in World Map. Disclaimer

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, or APEC, is the premier forum for facilitating economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific region.

APEC is the only inter governmental grouping in the world operating on the basis of non-binding commitments, open dialogue and equal respect for the views of all participants. Unlike the WTO or other multilateral trade bodies, APEC has no treaty obligations required of its participants. Decisions made within APEC are reached by consensus and commitments are undertaken on a voluntary basis.

APEC has 21 members - referred to as "Member Economies" - which account for more than a third of the world's population (2.6 billion people), approximately 60% o fworld GDP (US $19,254 billion) and about 47% of world trade. It also proudly represents the most economically dynamic region in the world having generated nearly 70% of global economic growth in its first 10 years.

APEC's 21 Member Economies are :

APEC Member Economies Date of Joining
Australia 6-7 Nov 1989
Brunei Darussalam 6-7 Nov 1989
Canada 6-7 Nov 1989
Chile 11-12 Nov 1994
People's Republic of China 12-14 Nov 1991
Hong Kong, China 12-14 Nov 1991
Indonesia 6-7 Nov 1989
Japan 6-7 Nov 1989
Republic of Korea (South Korea) 6-7 Nov 1989
Malaysia 6-7 Nov 1989
Mexico 17-19 Nov 1993
New Zealand 6-7 Nov 1989
Papua New Guinea 17-19 Nov 1993
Peru 14-15 Nov 1998
Philippines 6-7 Nov 1989
Russia 14-15 Nov 1998
Singapore 6-7 Nov 1989
Chinese Taipei (Taiwan) 12-14 Nov 1991
Thailand 6-7 Nov 1989
United States of America (USA) 6-7 Nov 1989
Viet Nam 14-15 Nov 1998

  Other Links