Alpine County Map

Below is County Map of Alpine in California showing the boundaries, roads, highways, towns and much more.

Map of Alpine County, California

Alpine County Map
Description:Map of Alpine county showing the major towns, highways and much more. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However MapSherpa, Inc, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Inside the page

Facts about Alpine County

County NameAlpine County
FoundedMar 16, 1864
Area743 sq mi (1,920 km2)
Land Area738 sq mi (1,910 km2)
Water Area4.8 sq mi (12 km2)
Population1,175 (2010)
Largest cityMarkleeville population and area ( Largest community)
County SeatMarkleeville
Time zonePacific Standard Time (UTC-8) Summer (DST) Pacific Daylight Time (UTC-7)

The County of Alpine is in the Sierra Nevada region along the Nevada border in Northern California. Founded in 1864, it is the least populous county in the state of California. The county extends between between Lake Tahoe and Yosemite National Park. The county seat is Markleeville, a census designated place. There are no incorporated cities in the county. The federal government retains about 96% of Alpine County's area of 743 square miles, the highest percentage in the state.

The north ridge of Mount Lola, at 8,848 feet (2,697 meters), is the highest point in Sierra County. After the silver rush in Alpine County, the region's economy relies on farming, ranching, and tourism. The 553-acre Grover Hot Springs State Park in Markleeville is home to hot springs, picnic areas, and hiking trails. The Eldorado National Forest covers the western portions of the county. Kirkwood Mountain Resort attracts visitors in all seasons to enjoy plenty of outdoor activities from hiking to snowboarding.

Carson Pass carries the California State Route 88 in an east–west direction. SR 4 and SR 89 are also major transportation corridors in the county.


Cities in Alpine County

Alpine Village114
Bear Valley121
Mesa Vista200

Mountain Peaks in Alpine County

Mountain Peak/HillElevation [Meter]
Airola Peak2,989
Antelope Peak3,087
Arnot Peak3,059
Black Butte2,743
Black Dome2,760
Boulder Peak2,860
Bull Run Peak2,895
Bull Run Peak2,893
Cary Peak2,651
Colorado Hill2,278
Covered Wagon Peak2,918
Dardanelles Cone2,905
Deadwood Peak2,987
Disaster Peak3,053
Ebbetts Peak2,800
Elephant Rock2,231
Elephants Back2,920
Fish Valley Peak3,209
Folger Peak2,938
Fourth of July Peak2,908
Hawkins Peak3,052
Henry Peak2,843
High Peak2,589
Highland Peak3,324
Hiram Peak2,948
Iceberg Peak2,969
Inspiration Point2,415
Jeff Davis Peak2,708
Jobs Peak3,233
Jobs Sister3,299
Leviathan Peak2,733
Lightning Mountian2,835
Lookout Peak2,919
Markleeville Peak2,864
Melissa Coray Peak2,977
Mineral Mountain2,718
Mogul Peak2,298
Monument Peak3,057
Mount Reba2,663
Osborn Hill2,381
Pacific Grade Summit2,464
Peep Sight Peak2,950
Pickett Peak2,743
Raymond Peak3,055
Red Lake Peak3,060
Reynolds Peak2,955
Round Top3,158
Silver Hill2,280
Silver Peak3,283
Soda Cone2,319
Sonora Peak3,484
Stanislaus Peak3,426
Stevens Peak3,061
The Dardanelles2,706
The Iceberg2,531
The Nipple2,847
The Sisters3,064
Thimble Peak2,988
Thornburg Peak2,627
Tryon Peak3,041
Whitecliff Peak3,296

Airports in Alpine County

Airport Name
Alpine County Airport
Bear Valley STOLport

County Maps of California

Alameda County MapMarin County MapSan Luis Obispo County Map
Alpine County MapMariposa County MapSan Mateo County Map
Amador County MapMendocino County MapSanta Barbara County Map
Butte County MapMerced County MapSanta Clara County Map
Calaveras County MapModoc County MapSanta Cruz County Map
Colusa County MapMono County MapShasta County Map
Contra Costa County MapMonterey County MapSierra County Map
Del Norte County MapNapa County MapSiskiyou County Map
El Doredo County MapNevada County MapSolano County Map
Fresno County MapOrange County MapSonoma County Map
Glenn County MapPlacer County MapStanislaus County Map
Humboldt County MapPlumas County MapSutter County Map
Imperial County MapRiverside County MapTehama County Map
Inyo County MapSacramento County MapTrinity County Map
Kern County MapSan Benito County MapTulare County Map
Kings County MapSan Bernardino County MapTuolumne County Map
Lake County MapSan Diego County MapVentura County Map
Lassen County MapSan Francisco County MapYolo County Map
Los Angeles County MapSan Joaquin County MapYuba County Map
Madera County Map 

Map of Cities in California

Long Beach city MapOakland city MapAnaheim city Map
Santa Ana city MapRiverside city MapStockton city Map
Chula Vista city MapFremont city MapIrvine city Map
San Bernardino city MapModesto city MapOxnard city Map
Los Angeles city Map San Francisco city Map Sacramento city Map
San Jose city Map Bakersfield city Map Fullerton city Map

Last Updated Date: January 18th, 2017