Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
Select Country Flag
CIS Flag

Flag of CIS

The Commonwealth of Independent States is a loose association of the states which were part of the erstwhile Soviet Union. The official flag of the organization was adopted on January 19, 1996. The flag has a dark blue field with a yellow sun. The sun is held up by eight bending poles that represent the eight CIS member states which signed the New Union treaty on December 21, 1991 -Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan

The white arcade like design in the CIS flag represents the desire for collective effort, unity, and cooperation.

Official Name: Commonwealth of Independent States

Flag Ratio: 1:2

Adopted on: January 19, 1996

Administrative Center: Minsk

Largest City: Moscow

Area: 8,533,183 square miles

Population: 276,917,629

Official Language: Russian

Last Updated On : August 25th, 2017

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at