Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
Select Country Flag
World Map / Flags of the world / Olympic Flag
Olympics Flag

Flag of Olympics

Flag of the Olympic Games

It was designed by Pierre de Fredy, a French man, who took about one year to complete it. The official flag of Olympics has a white base with five colored rings on it interlocking each other. The five colors of the Olympics flag are yellow, green, red, black and blue.

The colors on the flag of the Olympic Games represents the five main continents of the world - Americas, Asia, Australia, Europe, and Africa.

It is a ritual to hand over the official Olympics flag to the mayor of the city in which the games will be held next by the mayor of the city in which the Olympic Games were last held.

The five rings represent the five continents

  • Blue representing Europe
  • Black representing Africa
  • Red representing America
  • Yellow representing Asia
  • Green representing Australia (Oceania)
The Olympic flag is a symbol of peace, goodwill, and global solidarity and tolerance.

The Olympic Flag was used for the first time in the seventth Olympiad in Antwerp, Belgium in 1920. It is paraded during the opening ceremony of each Olympics. At the end of the Games, the Olympic flag is presented to the next host city by the current host city.

Last Updated On : August 29th, 2017

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."
For further info please get in touch with us at
mail  [email protected]