Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Upcoming Elections around the world / USA / Historical Election / U.S. Presidential Election 1972

U.S. Presidential Election 1972

The much anticipated results of the US Presidential elections were finally declared late on November 8, 2016. The Republican Party has scored a landslide victory. Republicans Donald Trump and Mike Pence are going to be the next President and Vice President of the USA.

Following its decisive victory in Pennsylvania, the GOP looks set to hold sway in the US Senate as well.

Having secured 264 electoral votes already and leading in the states of Michigan, Wisconsin and Arizona, Donald Trump looks set to become the next president of the USA. He's just four more votes away from winning the elections.

The Republicans' dominance in the US House of Representatives is set to continue. While the party may find it difficult to retain majority in the Senate, continued Republican dominance in the House could hamper any legislative agenda taken up by Clinton, in case she is elected. On the other hand, Trump's victory could lead to a prompt demise of outgoing President and Democrat member Barack Obama's health reforms.

In what may come as another setback for Hillary Clinton, as per latest reports, Republican Pat Toomey has been re-elected to the Senate from Pennsylvania.

The presidential election of 1972 was a race between incumbent President Richard Nixon and Senator George McGovern of South Dakota. Nixon was reelected by the widest margin in U.S. history, later to become the only President of the United States ever to resign from office in August 1974.
The Democratic nomination was a competition between McGovern and several other party leaders, including former Vice President Hubert Humphrey and Alabama Governor George Wallace, a segregationist leader. Edmund Muskie, who previously ran as a candidate for vice president, took an early lead during election season. Shirley Chisholm of New York became the first African American to run for president, and Patty Mink of Hawaii became the first Asian American to run, and both were women. George Wallace's supporters came primarily from the South and he won several primaries. An assassination attempt by Arthur Bremer during the campaign left Wallace paralyzed and forced him to end his campaign.

McGovern was an anti-war, liberal candidate like Eugene McCarthy had been in the previous election. Humphrey defeated McGovern in the primary elections by a small margin, but at the Democratic National Convention, delegates chose McGovern as the presidential nominee. This was a controversial move that came just after the new McGovern-Fraser Commission which changed and regulated the way delegates were chosen.

At the convention, a few candidates were considered for the vice presidential nomination, including Frances Farenthold, the first serious female vice presidential candidate. Thomas Eagleton was given the position, initially accepting the role until his personal medical records were released. The records showed that at one point, Eagleton had undergone shock therapy to treat depression. Fears that his depression could return and affect his leadership abilities caused concern, and Eagleton soon resigned from the nomination.

To remain a viable candidate against the incumbent, Democratic leaders knew they needed to choose the right replacement for Eagleton. Because they were unable to convince Ted Kennedy to be McGovern's running mate, the party chose Sargent Shriver, who was a member of the Kennedy family. Though Shriver had never served in an elected position, the Democratic Party believed his connection to the Kennedys would boost their support.

During the campaign, reports were released claiming McGovern supported very progressive stances regarding amnesty, abortion, and the legalization of marijuana, which caused controversy and lost McGovern the support of many moderates and conservatives.

The many controversies within the Democratic Party, as well as the late finalization of the Democratic ticket caused McGovern to lose support and hurt his popularity in the polls.

The election of 1972 was the first election since the Twenty-sixth Amendment was passed in 1971, lowering the voting age from twenty-one to eighteen. The election resulted in an enormous victory for Nixon, losing just two small states to McGovern. Nixon won by the widest margin in history in terms of the popular vote, receiving more than 18 million votes more than McGovern. One faithless elector from Virginia, which was supposed to be cast for Nixon and Agnew, was given instead to John Hospers and Theodora Nathan.

Nixon's second term as President of the United States was marred by scandal, leading to the resignation of Vice President Agnew on October 10, 1973. Agnew was succeeded by Gerald R. Ford. On August 9, 1974, Nixon resigned as President of the United States. Ford became president, and Nelson A. Rockefeller became vice president. Nixon became the first and only president to resign from office.

US Presidential Elections History
2012 US Presidential Election1936 US Presidential Election1860 US Presidential Election
2008 US Presidential Election1932 US Presidential Election1856 US Presidential Election
2004 US Presidential Election1928 US Presidential Election1852 US Presidential Election
2000 US Presidential Election1924 US Presidential Election1848 US Presidential Election
1996 US Presidential Election1920 US Presidential Election1844 US Presidential Election
1992 US Presidential Election1916 US Presidential Election1840 US Presidential Election
1988 US Presidential Election1912 US Presidential Election1836 US Presidential Election
1984 US Presidential Election1908 US Presidential Election1832 US Presidential Election
1980 US Presidential Election1904 US Presidential Election1828 US Presidential Election
1976 US Presidential Election1900 US Presidential Election1824 US Presidential Election
1972 US Presidential Election1896 US Presidential Election1820 US Presidential Election
1968 US Presidential Election1892 US Presidential Election1816 US Presidential Election
1964 US Presidential Election1888 US Presidential Election1812 US Presidential Election
1960 US Presidential Election1884 US Presidential Election1808 US Presidential Election
1956 US Presidential Election1880 US Presidential Election1804 US Presidential Election
1952 US Presidential Election1876 US Presidential Election1800 US Presidential Election
1948 US Presidential Election1872 US Presidential Election1796 US Presidential Election
1944 US Presidential Election1868 US Presidential Election1792 US Presidential Election
1940 US Presidential Election1864 US Presidential Election1789 US Presidential Election