Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Upcoming Elections around the world / USA / Historical Election / U.S. Presidential Election 1880

U.S. Presidential Election 1880

The much anticipated results of the US Presidential elections were finally declared late on November 8, 2016. The Republican Party has scored a landslide victory. Republicans Donald Trump and Mike Pence are going to be the next President and Vice President of the USA.

Following its decisive victory in Pennsylvania, the GOP looks set to hold sway in the US Senate as well.

Having secured 264 electoral votes already and leading in the states of Michigan, Wisconsin and Arizona, Donald Trump looks set to become the next president of the USA. He's just four more votes away from winning the elections.

The Republicans' dominance in the US House of Representatives is set to continue. While the party may find it difficult to retain majority in the Senate, continued Republican dominance in the House could hamper any legislative agenda taken up by Clinton, in case she is elected. On the other hand, Trump's victory could lead to a prompt demise of outgoing President and Democrat member Barack Obama's health reforms.

In what may come as another setback for Hillary Clinton, as per latest reports, Republican Pat Toomey has been re-elected to the Senate from Pennsylvania.

The presidential election of 1880 was a race between Republican James A. Garfield and Democrat Winfield Scott Hancock, resulting in a close popular vote count but a clear electoral vote winner. James A. Garfield won the election and became the twentieth President of the United States.

Incumbent President Rutherford B. Hayes did not attempt reelection, but former President Ulysses S. Grant did attempt to run for a third term, losing the Republican nomination to James A. Garfield of Ohio. Garfield, who had recently been elected Senator of Ohio, attended the Republican National Convention and spoke in support of nominating fellow Ohioan, John Sherman. The other delegates liked his speech and began voting for him instead, and soon he had won the party's nomination. The convention then chose Chester A. Arthur to run as vice presidential candidate for the Republican Party.

The Democratic Party considered Samuel J. Tilden, who ran as the party nominee for president in the 1876 election. When he refused, Winfield Scott Hancock stepped up and received the party's nomination, and William Hayden English became his running mate.

The Greenback Party nominated James B. Weaver as presidential candidate for the 1880 election, and Benjamin J. Chambers as his running mate. The Greenback Party had formed in Indiana in 1874 to fight back against monopolies and the fiscal policies of the two major political parties. The election of 1880 was the strongest year for the Greenback Party, with over 3 percent of the vote. The other third parties with candidates in the 1880 presidential race were the American Party and the Prohibition Party, neither of which received a substantial number of votes on Election Day, nor a single electoral vote.

The presidential campaigns of 1880 mainly focused on the issues surrounding the end of Reconstruction. The Morey letter, though it turned out to be fake, was a point of contention in this election. The letter may have come from the Democratic Party's campaign, but it was supposed to be a letter from Garfield in which he advocated Chinese immigration, an unpopular view for the time.

The 1880 election resulted in the closest popular vote in history, but the electoral vote showed clearly that Garfield was the winner. Garfield and Hancock each won nineteen states, but Garfield had won the larger states, receiving a total of 214 electoral votes. Hancock's votes from Georgia were controversial because they were not received by the deadline, but their exclusion from the total count would not have made a difference in the election's outcome.

Garfield became the twentieth President of the United States. He was assassinated on July 2, 1881 by Charles J. Guiteau. Garfield's presidential term was the second shortest in history at just 200 days, second only to the term of William Henry Harrison. Garfield's vice president, Chester A. Arthur succeeded him.

US Presidential Elections History
2012 US Presidential Election1936 US Presidential Election1860 US Presidential Election
2008 US Presidential Election1932 US Presidential Election1856 US Presidential Election
2004 US Presidential Election1928 US Presidential Election1852 US Presidential Election
2000 US Presidential Election1924 US Presidential Election1848 US Presidential Election
1996 US Presidential Election1920 US Presidential Election1844 US Presidential Election
1992 US Presidential Election1916 US Presidential Election1840 US Presidential Election
1988 US Presidential Election1912 US Presidential Election1836 US Presidential Election
1984 US Presidential Election1908 US Presidential Election1832 US Presidential Election
1980 US Presidential Election1904 US Presidential Election1828 US Presidential Election
1976 US Presidential Election1900 US Presidential Election1824 US Presidential Election
1972 US Presidential Election1896 US Presidential Election1820 US Presidential Election
1968 US Presidential Election1892 US Presidential Election1816 US Presidential Election
1964 US Presidential Election1888 US Presidential Election1812 US Presidential Election
1960 US Presidential Election1884 US Presidential Election1808 US Presidential Election
1956 US Presidential Election1880 US Presidential Election1804 US Presidential Election
1952 US Presidential Election1876 US Presidential Election1800 US Presidential Election
1948 US Presidential Election1872 US Presidential Election1796 US Presidential Election
1944 US Presidential Election1868 US Presidential Election1792 US Presidential Election
1940 US Presidential Election1864 US Presidential Election1789 US Presidential Election