Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Upcoming Elections around the world / USA / Historical Election / U.S. Presidential Election 1924

U.S. Presidential Election 1924

The much anticipated results of the US Presidential elections were finally declared late on November 8, 2016. The Republican Party has scored a landslide victory. Republicans Donald Trump and Mike Pence are going to be the next President and Vice President of the USA.

Following its decisive victory in Pennsylvania, the GOP looks set to hold sway in the US Senate as well.

Having secured 264 electoral votes already and leading in the states of Michigan, Wisconsin and Arizona, Donald Trump looks set to become the next president of the USA. He's just four more votes away from winning the elections.

The Republicans' dominance in the US House of Representatives is set to continue. While the party may find it difficult to retain majority in the Senate, continued Republican dominance in the House could hamper any legislative agenda taken up by Clinton, in case she is elected. On the other hand, Trump's victory could lead to a prompt demise of outgoing President and Democrat member Barack Obama's health reforms.

In what may come as another setback for Hillary Clinton, as per latest reports, Republican Pat Toomey has been re-elected to the Senate from Pennsylvania.

The presidential election of 1924 was a three-way race between incumbent President Calvin Coolidge of the Republican Party, Democratic candidate John W. Davis, and Progressive Party nominee Robert M. La Follette. The Progressive Party had split off from the Democratic Party, dividing supporters and making for an easy reelection of President Coolidge.
Calvin Coolidge had been elected in 1920 as President Warren G. Harding's vice president. Coolidge had succeeded Harding after his death in 1923. Under Coolidge's leadership, the economy had improved and there were no major international conflicts, gaining the president much public support. The Republican Party easily selected Coolidge to run for reelection on the party's ticket.

Frank Orren Lowden, who had been a frontrunner during the previous Republican National Convention in 1920, was first chosen to be Coolidge's running mate, but when he refused, the delegation chose Charles G. Dawes instead.

The Democratic National Convention was a long battle between former Secretary of the Treasury William Gibbs McAdoo, Governor of New York Al Smith, and John W. Davis of West Virginia, who served as Ambassador to the United Kingdom. The party was split nearly geographically, with McAdoo's supporters coming from rural parts of the country, including the South and the West, while Smith's supporters were more liberal, coming from urban areas including the Northeast and Midwest.

The party was divided over the candidates, disagreeing over fundamental differences, such as whether to accept the support of the KKK. The klan backed McAdoo, who refused to publicly condemn the group. Without a two-thirds majority vote at the convention, ballots were repeated one hundred times, making it the longest running political convention in the nation's history. The convention finally settled on Davis to be the Democratic nominee, with Charles W. Bryan as his running mate.

When the Democratic Party chose Davis as their presidential nominee, a portion of the party's members were upset over the choice to nominate such a conservative candidate. In response, these members broke away and formed the Progressive Party. The Progressive Party elected Robert M. La Follette to represent the party as their presidential nominee.

Both of the major candidates, Coolidge and Davis, campaigned on conservative views, like limited government, reduced taxes, and less regulation. The third party candidate, La Follette, was on the opposing side, representing liberals. But with the division of the Democratic Party's supporters, Coolidge won his election, continuing as President of the United States for a full second term.

The breakdown of candidates and electoral votes was as follows:
Presidential CandidateHome StatePartyElectoral VotesRunning Mate
Calvin CoolidgeMassachusettsRepublican382Charles G. Dawes
John W. DavisWest VirginiaDemocratic136Charles W. Bryan
Robert M. La FolletteWisconsinProgressive13Burton K. Wheeler
Total  531

US Presidential Elections History
2012 US Presidential Election1936 US Presidential Election1860 US Presidential Election
2008 US Presidential Election1932 US Presidential Election1856 US Presidential Election
2004 US Presidential Election1928 US Presidential Election1852 US Presidential Election
2000 US Presidential Election1924 US Presidential Election1848 US Presidential Election
1996 US Presidential Election1920 US Presidential Election1844 US Presidential Election
1992 US Presidential Election1916 US Presidential Election1840 US Presidential Election
1988 US Presidential Election1912 US Presidential Election1836 US Presidential Election
1984 US Presidential Election1908 US Presidential Election1832 US Presidential Election
1980 US Presidential Election1904 US Presidential Election1828 US Presidential Election
1976 US Presidential Election1900 US Presidential Election1824 US Presidential Election
1972 US Presidential Election1896 US Presidential Election1820 US Presidential Election
1968 US Presidential Election1892 US Presidential Election1816 US Presidential Election
1964 US Presidential Election1888 US Presidential Election1812 US Presidential Election
1960 US Presidential Election1884 US Presidential Election1808 US Presidential Election
1956 US Presidential Election1880 US Presidential Election1804 US Presidential Election
1952 US Presidential Election1876 US Presidential Election1800 US Presidential Election
1948 US Presidential Election1872 US Presidential Election1796 US Presidential Election
1944 US Presidential Election1868 US Presidential Election1792 US Presidential Election
1940 US Presidential Election1864 US Presidential Election1789 US Presidential Election