Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Upcoming Elections around the world / USA / Historical Election / U.S. Presidential Election 1832

U.S. Presidential Election 1832

The much anticipated results of the US Presidential elections were finally declared late on November 8, 2016. The Republican Party has scored a landslide victory. Republicans Donald Trump and Mike Pence are going to be the next President and Vice President of the USA.

Following its decisive victory in Pennsylvania, the GOP looks set to hold sway in the US Senate as well.

Having secured 264 electoral votes already and leading in the states of Michigan, Wisconsin and Arizona, Donald Trump looks set to become the next president of the USA. He's just four more votes away from winning the elections.

The Republicans' dominance in the US House of Representatives is set to continue. While the party may find it difficult to retain majority in the Senate, continued Republican dominance in the House could hamper any legislative agenda taken up by Clinton, in case she is elected. On the other hand, Trump's victory could lead to a prompt demise of outgoing President and Democrat member Barack Obama's health reforms.

In what may come as another setback for Hillary Clinton, as per latest reports, Republican Pat Toomey has been re-elected to the Senate from Pennsylvania.

The 1832 presidential election was the twelfth presidential election in the United States. The incumbent president and Democratic Party representative, Andrew Jackson was up for reelection in 1832.
Henry Clay, who had previously run for president and lost, was the National Republican Party's nominee for president, and William Wirt of Maryland ran as a third party representative for the short-lived Anti-Masonic Party. In another landslide victory, Jackson won the election for his second term as President of the United States.

The election of 1832 was unique in the sense that for the first time the candidates were selected during national nominating conventions rather than a congressional caucus or state legislatures. National conventions, which are still used today to officially select party nominees, were started by the Anti-Masonic Party in 1831, and the National Republican and Democratic Parties soon followed suit. The first party conventions were held in Baltimore, Maryland.

After much deliberation, the Anti-Masonic Party chose William Wirt as their presidential nominee, and Richard Rush to be his running mate. The National Republican Party nominated Henry Clay for his second presidential bid, with John Sergeant as the vice presidential nominee for the party. The first Democratic National Convention voted on other matters, such as whether to allow the District of Columbia to cast votes, but the convention did not have an official vote to nominate Andrew Jackson, but simply acknowledged his renomination. Instead, they they cast their votes for the Democratic Party's vice presidential nominee. The votes were divided among Martin Van Buren, Philip Barbour, and Richard Johnson, resulting in Van Buren winning the nomination.

In the nationwide election of 1832, Andrew Jackson won the election by a wide margin of 170 electoral votes, and was reelected as President of the United States. Though Van Buren won the vice presidential nomination at the National Convention, Democratic electors from Pennsylvania cast their votes instead for William Wilkins. Despite this, Van Buren won the vice presidential seat.

John Floyd, who did not campaign for the office, received South Carolina's eleven electoral votes as an independent candidate. Though Wirt, the Anti-Masonic Party candidate, did not receive a high number of electoral votes, he did succeed in impacting the election of 1832 by gaining a number of electoral votes that could have gone to Clay. Still, Jackson won the election by such a wide margin that Clay could not have caught up to him.

The breakdown of candidates and electoral votes was as follows:

Presidential CandidateHome StatePartyElectoral VotesRunning Mate
Andrew JacksonTennesseeDemocratic219Martin Van Buren
Henry ClayKentuckyNational Republican49John Sergeant
John FloydVirginiaIndependent11Henry Lee
William WirtMarylandAnti-Masonic7Amos Ellmaker

US Presidential Elections History
2012 US Presidential Election1936 US Presidential Election1860 US Presidential Election
2008 US Presidential Election1932 US Presidential Election1856 US Presidential Election
2004 US Presidential Election1928 US Presidential Election1852 US Presidential Election
2000 US Presidential Election1924 US Presidential Election1848 US Presidential Election
1996 US Presidential Election1920 US Presidential Election1844 US Presidential Election
1992 US Presidential Election1916 US Presidential Election1840 US Presidential Election
1988 US Presidential Election1912 US Presidential Election1836 US Presidential Election
1984 US Presidential Election1908 US Presidential Election1832 US Presidential Election
1980 US Presidential Election1904 US Presidential Election1828 US Presidential Election
1976 US Presidential Election1900 US Presidential Election1824 US Presidential Election
1972 US Presidential Election1896 US Presidential Election1820 US Presidential Election
1968 US Presidential Election1892 US Presidential Election1816 US Presidential Election
1964 US Presidential Election1888 US Presidential Election1812 US Presidential Election
1960 US Presidential Election1884 US Presidential Election1808 US Presidential Election
1956 US Presidential Election1880 US Presidential Election1804 US Presidential Election
1952 US Presidential Election1876 US Presidential Election1800 US Presidential Election
1948 US Presidential Election1872 US Presidential Election1796 US Presidential Election
1944 US Presidential Election1868 US Presidential Election1792 US Presidential Election
1940 US Presidential Election1864 US Presidential Election1789 US Presidential Election