Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Upcoming Elections around the world / USA / Historical Election / U.S. Presidential Election 1908

U.S. Presidential Election 1908

The much anticipated results of the US Presidential elections were finally declared late on November 8, 2016. The Republican Party has scored a landslide victory. Republicans Donald Trump and Mike Pence are going to be the next President and Vice President of the USA.

Following its decisive victory in Pennsylvania, the GOP looks set to hold sway in the US Senate as well.

Having secured 264 electoral votes already and leading in the states of Michigan, Wisconsin and Arizona, Donald Trump looks set to become the next president of the USA. He's just four more votes away from winning the elections.

The Republicans' dominance in the US House of Representatives is set to continue. While the party may find it difficult to retain majority in the Senate, continued Republican dominance in the House could hamper any legislative agenda taken up by Clinton, in case she is elected. On the other hand, Trump's victory could lead to a prompt demise of outgoing President and Democrat member Barack Obama's health reforms.

In what may come as another setback for Hillary Clinton, as per latest reports, Republican Pat Toomey has been re-elected to the Senate from Pennsylvania.

The election of 1908 was the thirty-first presidential election in the United States. The election was a competition between Republican William Howard Taft and three-time nominee for the Democratic Party, William Jennings Bryan. Bryan suffered his worst and final loss in this election, defeated by Taft, who became the twenty-seventh president of the United States.
Incumbent President Theodore Roosevelt had decided not to seek a third term for this election, endorsing instead William Howard Taft, his Secretary of War. Roosevelt used his influence to persuade the Republican Party to back his choice. The Republican Party had started using the statewide primary election system to select their candidates for the national convention. Only a few states participated in these preference primaries, choosing William Howard Taft. Philander C. Knox in second, followed by Charles Evans Hughes. The major vice presidential candidates for the Republican Party were Representative James S. Sherman, Edward F. Murphy, and Curtis Guild. Sherman won the nomination almost unanimously.

The Democratic Party chose to nominate William Jennings Bryan for his third shot at the presidency. The party strategy for the 1908 election was to support a progressive candidate, as opposed to the previous election's more conservative candidate, Parker, who lost. John Worth Kern was chosen unanimously to run as the party's vice presidential nominee. 

There were forty-six states participating in the election, after Oklahoma had become a state in November 1907. In the election of 1908, the nation was divided geographically north to south, with Taft securing the northern and western states, and Bryan taking most of the South. The north's wealthy businessmen supported Taft and the Republican Party. Bryan's third loss was also his worst, as he lost the support of the laborers he had carried before.

Taft became the President of the United States. Vice President James S. Sherman died at the end of his term, on October 30, 1912, only a week before the next presidential election.

The breakdown of candidates and electoral votes was as follows:

Presidential CandidateHome StatePartyElectoral VotesRunning Mate
William Howard TaftOhioRepublican321James S. Sherman
William Jennings BryanNebraskaDemocratic162John Worth Kern
Eugene V. DebsIndianaSocialist0Benjamin Hanford
Eugene W. ChaflinIllinoisProhibition0Aaron Sherman Watkins
Total  483

US Presidential Elections History
2012 US Presidential Election1936 US Presidential Election1860 US Presidential Election
2008 US Presidential Election1932 US Presidential Election1856 US Presidential Election
2004 US Presidential Election1928 US Presidential Election1852 US Presidential Election
2000 US Presidential Election1924 US Presidential Election1848 US Presidential Election
1996 US Presidential Election1920 US Presidential Election1844 US Presidential Election
1992 US Presidential Election1916 US Presidential Election1840 US Presidential Election
1988 US Presidential Election1912 US Presidential Election1836 US Presidential Election
1984 US Presidential Election1908 US Presidential Election1832 US Presidential Election
1980 US Presidential Election1904 US Presidential Election1828 US Presidential Election
1976 US Presidential Election1900 US Presidential Election1824 US Presidential Election
1972 US Presidential Election1896 US Presidential Election1820 US Presidential Election
1968 US Presidential Election1892 US Presidential Election1816 US Presidential Election
1964 US Presidential Election1888 US Presidential Election1812 US Presidential Election
1960 US Presidential Election1884 US Presidential Election1808 US Presidential Election
1956 US Presidential Election1880 US Presidential Election1804 US Presidential Election
1952 US Presidential Election1876 US Presidential Election1800 US Presidential Election
1948 US Presidential Election1872 US Presidential Election1796 US Presidential Election
1944 US Presidential Election1868 US Presidential Election1792 US Presidential Election
1940 US Presidential Election1864 US Presidential Election1789 US Presidential Election