Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Upcoming Elections around the world / USA / Historical Election / U.S. Presidential Election 1892

U.S. Presidential Election 1892

The much anticipated results of the US Presidential elections were finally declared late on November 8, 2016. The Republican Party has scored a landslide victory. Republicans Donald Trump and Mike Pence are going to be the next President and Vice President of the USA.

Following its decisive victory in Pennsylvania, the GOP looks set to hold sway in the US Senate as well.

Having secured 264 electoral votes already and leading in the states of Michigan, Wisconsin and Arizona, Donald Trump looks set to become the next president of the USA. He's just four more votes away from winning the elections.

The Republicans' dominance in the US House of Representatives is set to continue. While the party may find it difficult to retain majority in the Senate, continued Republican dominance in the House could hamper any legislative agenda taken up by Clinton, in case she is elected. On the other hand, Trump's victory could lead to a prompt demise of outgoing President and Democrat member Barack Obama's health reforms.

In what may come as another setback for Hillary Clinton, as per latest reports, Republican Pat Toomey has been re-elected to the Senate from Pennsylvania.

The presidential election of 1892 was a rematch between incumbent President Benjamin Harrison and former President Grover Cleveland. This election was unique in that Grover Cleveland became the only U.S. President ever to be elected to a second non-consecutive term, granting him the title of both twenty-second and twenty-fourth President of the United States.

After his loss to Benjamin Harrison in the 1888 election, Grover Cleveland had vowed to return to campaign in the following presidential election. He kept his promise and returned the Democratic National Convention in Chicago to compete for another chance at the White House. Though some delegates at the convention were critical of Cleveland, particularly those from his home state, New York, he won the nomination by a small margin and became the Democratic candidate. Illinois Congressman Adlai Stevenson received the nomination for the vice presidential seat.

The Republican Party considered renominating James G. Blaine, but decided instead to back incumbent President Benjamin Harrison, who had a number of strong supporters at the convention. They felt that he had a better chance at being elected than other candidates.

Third parties, the Prohibition Party and the Socialist Labor Party nominated candidates for the presidential seat. The Prohibition Party nominated John Bidwell, with running mate James B. Cranfill. The newly formed Socialist Labor Party nominated Simon Wing and Charles Matchett for their first presidential ticket. The Populist Party, a third party formed in 1891, consisted of farming and labor groups who wanted the nationalization of services including the telephone and telegraph, as well as railroads and silver coinage. The party nominated James B. Weaver as their representative, with James G. Field as his running mate.

Currency turned out to be one of the big issues of the 1892 election, when Weaver campaigned for free silver coinage and greenbacks. Tariffs were again a commonly debated issue, with Cleveland assuring voters that he did not advocate a complete free trade system. His more moderate views proved effective in gaining widespread support.

New states voting in the 1892 presidential election were Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Washington, and Wyoming. Though Weaver of the People's (Populist) Party only won electors from six states, this was a significant accomplishment for a third party. The Prohibition Party beat its party record with a popular vote percentage at over 2 percent of the total, though they still did not earn any electoral votes. The election resulted in a win for former President Grover Cleveland, who would serve a second non-consecutive term. He won with a strong lead, at 277 electoral votes to the 145 Harrison won.

US Presidential Elections History
2012 US Presidential Election1936 US Presidential Election1860 US Presidential Election
2008 US Presidential Election1932 US Presidential Election1856 US Presidential Election
2004 US Presidential Election1928 US Presidential Election1852 US Presidential Election
2000 US Presidential Election1924 US Presidential Election1848 US Presidential Election
1996 US Presidential Election1920 US Presidential Election1844 US Presidential Election
1992 US Presidential Election1916 US Presidential Election1840 US Presidential Election
1988 US Presidential Election1912 US Presidential Election1836 US Presidential Election
1984 US Presidential Election1908 US Presidential Election1832 US Presidential Election
1980 US Presidential Election1904 US Presidential Election1828 US Presidential Election
1976 US Presidential Election1900 US Presidential Election1824 US Presidential Election
1972 US Presidential Election1896 US Presidential Election1820 US Presidential Election
1968 US Presidential Election1892 US Presidential Election1816 US Presidential Election
1964 US Presidential Election1888 US Presidential Election1812 US Presidential Election
1960 US Presidential Election1884 US Presidential Election1808 US Presidential Election
1956 US Presidential Election1880 US Presidential Election1804 US Presidential Election
1952 US Presidential Election1876 US Presidential Election1800 US Presidential Election
1948 US Presidential Election1872 US Presidential Election1796 US Presidential Election
1944 US Presidential Election1868 US Presidential Election1792 US Presidential Election
1940 US Presidential Election1864 US Presidential Election1789 US Presidential Election