Description : USSR Map shows the republic names, Soviet Union administrative and political divisions.      Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

About Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR)

USSR, formed post the Russian Revolution in 1922 was a union of Soviet Socialist republics including
the present countries of Russia, Belarus, Lithuania, Latvia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Estonia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Moldova, and Ukraine. World’s largest country by area, Soviet Union was known for its unity in diversity, until the economic and political unrest in late 1980s to 1990s, which eventually resulted in the disintegration of the USSR.

About USSR Map

The given map of USSR shows the location of the former republics of the Soviet Union along with neatly drawn republic and international boundaries. This scaled map shows USSR as one of the republics of the world, which has both the latitudinal lines of the Arctic Circle and the Tropic of Cancer passing across the region of the union. The map shows Russia as the largest country of the Soviet Union occupying maximum earth surface. This easily downloadable map is available in diverse formats and can be used for historical analysis, research work, presentations, etc.

Geography of Soviet Union

World’s largest country by area, USSR had the longest boundary and coastlines. Arctic Ocean bordered the northern part of the union, while the Pacific Ocean surrounded the eastern part, and other Asian countries bordered the southern part of the Soviet Union. Occupying one-sixth of the earth’s land, it covered approximately an area of 8,650,500 square miles, covering 11 time zones and five climatic zones, including the Steppes, Taiga Tundra, mountains, and desert climate. The geographical coordinates of Soviet Union are 55.75°N and 37.61°E.

USSR Quick Facts

Official NameUnion of Soviet Socialist Republics
ContinentEurope (Eurasia)
FoundedDecember 1922
Area22,402,200 sq km
Population293 million (1991 estimate)
Form of GovernmentUnion Marxist
Head of the StateMikhail Kalinin (1922-1938)
Mikhail Gorbachev (1988- 1991)
Head of the GovernmentVladimir Lenin (1922- 1924), Ivan Silayev (1991)
CurrencySoviet Ruble
Major LanguageRussian
Major ReligionsNone

Soviet Union Background

Before the Russian Revolution in 1917, four soviet socialist republics including Russian, Trans-caucasian, Belarus and Ukrainian republics formed the union on the land of the former Russian Empire. This union established on 30 December 1922, laid the stepping stone for eleven other republics to be a part of the USSR in the subsequent years. By 1990, the USSR had 15 soviet republics, 20 self-governing republics, 8 independent provinces, 10 districts, 6 regions and 114 provinces. However, due to political and economic unrest, this union could not even last for 70 years, and by December 1991, the USSR ceased to exist.

Soviet Union Economy and Challenges

Once considered as one of the strongest emerging economies of the world, the economic policy changes in the later years of the union became one of the reasons behind the disintegration of the USSR. Initially, the economy of USSR was based upon centralized administration and planning with state-owned investment, collective production and state ownership channeled by successive Five Years plans. During the 1950s and 1960s, the Soviet Union evolved from an agrarian society to one of the prominent industrial powers of the world. This development however, slowed down during the last few decades of the Soviet Union due to the changes in the market-oriented policies, corruption and stagnation of the economy, which created unrest among the republics, leading towards the dissolution.

Travel and Tourism

Even though, USSR was one of the largest countries of the world, bordered by spectacular coastlines with many natural and man-made attractions to boast of, it attracted few tourists in the initial years of its existence. Long distance from other tourist destinations in Europe, expensive travel within the Union, and limited information about tourist destinations of Soviet Union, resulted in fewer tourists. However, in the 1950s after the launch of the first satellite, there was an increase in the number of tourists. The Government of USSR, formed the Administration and Council on Foreign Tourism in 1964, to attract more tourists and management of foreign visitors. ‘Intourist’ was a Russian travel agency under the official administration of the Soviet Union to monitor and manage foreign tourists. The country's vast history and varied culture were also the major attractions for tourists. In the current scenario, after the dissolution of the Soviet Union; Russia still attracts many foreign tourists and is one of the most favored tourist destinations of the world, followed by other former republics of Soviet Union.

Last Updated on: October 25th, 2017