'Indonesia will join TPP free trade deal'

  • Indonesian President Joko Widodo told his American counterpart Barack Obama that it intends to join the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) reached earlier this month between the US and 11 Pacific countries, the media reported on Tuesday. The TPP, signed in early October, is subject to ratification by the 12 member countries -- Chile, Australia, Brunei, Canada, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the US and Vietnam -- which represent 40 percent of the global economy. (Source: IANS)