ASEAN Member Countries

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, ASEAN, was established on August 8, 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, in an effort to unite the countries of the region in an economic and political organization.
World Map Of ASEAN Member Countries
Description:This map shows the location of ASEAN member countries. Disclaimer

ASEAN, the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, was created in 1967 as a political group to strengthen the power and increase growth and development in member nations.

Initially, the only nations belonging to ASEAN were Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. The organization continued to expand over time to the ten nations it includes today, plus two observer states, Papua New Guinea and Timor-Leste (East Timor).

The main goals of ASEAN include improving the economies of member countries, as well as protection and peace between the neighboring nations. The unification of these primarily smaller nations helps them to protect themselves and each other from outside conflicts. In fact, the original organization was formed to prevent the spread of communism in the 1960s. Much like other regional organization, ASEAN also seeks to promote progress and develop local cultures. Cultural activities range from athletic events to awards in literature.

Country NameCapital CityMoney/CurrencyOfficial languagesLeadersAccession
BruneiBandar Seri BegawanBrunei dollar (BND)MalayHead of State and Government: Hassanal BolkiahJan 7, 1984
CambodiaPhnom PenhCambodian riel (KHR)KhmerHead of State: Norodom Sihamoni Head of Government: Hun SenApr 30, 1999
IndonesiaJakartaIndonesian rupiah (IDR)IndonesianHead of State and Government:
Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono
Aug 8, 1967
LaosVientianeLao kip (LAK)LaoHead of State: Choummaly Sayasone Head of Government: 
Thongsing Thammavong
Jul 23, 1997
MalaysiaKuala LumpurMalaysian ringgit (MYR)MalayHead of State: Abdul Halim
Head of Government:
Mahathir Bin Mohamad
Aug 8, 1967
MyanmarNaypyidawMyanmar kyat (MMK)BurmeseHead of State and Government:
Thein Sein
Jul 23, 1997
PhilippinesManilaPhilippine peso (PHP)Filipino, EnglishHead of State and Government: Benigno Aquino IIIAug 8, 1967
SingaporeSingaporeSingapore dollar (SGD)Malay, Chinese, English, TamilHead of State: Tony Tan Keng Yam Head of Government:
 Lee Hsien Loong
Aug 8, 1967
ThailandBangkokThai baht (THB)ThaiHead of State: Bhumibol Adulyadej Head of Government:
 Yingluck Shinawatra
Aug 8, 1967
VietnamHanoiVietnamese đồng (VND)VietnameseHead of State: Truong Tan Sang
Head of Government: 
Nguyen Tan Dung
Jul 28, 1995
ASEAN Non-Member Candidate Countries:
Papua New Guinea Port Moresby Papua New Guinean kina (PKG)English, Tok Pisin, Hiri MotuHead of State: Queen Elizabetd II, Michael Ogio (Governor-General), Head of Government: Peter O'Neill 1976
Timor-LesteDiliUnited States dollar(USD)Portuguese and TetumHead of State: Jose Ramos-Horta, Head of Government:
Xanana Gusmao

  ASEAN Commemorative summit  
DateMeetingHost CountryCity/LocationMotto of Event
11, 12 Dec 2003ASEAN–Japan Commemorative Summit JapanTokyo30th anniversary of ASEAN and Japan
30, 31 Oct 2006ASEAN–China Commemorative SummitChinaNanning15th anniversary of ASEAN and China
1, 2 June 2009ASEAN–Republic of Korea Commemorative Summit South KoreaJeju-do20th anniversary of ASEAN and South Korea
20, 21 Dec 2012ASEAN–India Commemorative SummitIndiaNew Delhi20th anniversary of the ASEAN and India

  ASEAN Formal Summits  
EventDateCountryHost CityHost Leader
1st23–24 February 1976 IndonesiaBaliSoeharto
2nd4–5 August 1977 MalaysiaKuala LumpurHussein Onn
3rd14–15 December 1987 PhilippinesManilaCorazon Aquino
4th27‒29 January 1992 SingaporeSingaporeGoh Chok Tong
5th14‒15 December 1995 ThailandBangkokBanharn Silpa-archa
6th15‒16 December 1998 VietnamHanoiPhan Van Khai
7th5‒6 November 2001 BruneiBandar Seri BegawanHassanal Bolkiah
8th4‒5 November 2002 CambodiaPhnom PenhHun Sen
9th7‒8 October 2003 IndonesiaBaliMegawati Soekarnoputri
10th29‒30 November 2004 LaosVientianeBounnhang Vorachith
11th12‒14 December 2005 MalaysiaKuala LumpurAbdullah Ahmad Badawi
12th11‒14 January 20071 PhilippinesCebuGloria Macapagal-Arroyo
13th18‒22 November 2007 SingaporeSingaporeLee Hsien Loong
14th27 February - 1 March 2009 ThailandCha Am, Hua HinAbhisit Vejjajiva
2nd meeting of 14th10–11 April 2009 ThailandPattayaAbhisit Vejjajiva
15th23 October 2009 ThailandCha Am, Hua HinAbhisit Vejjajiva
16th38 - 9 April 2010 VietnamHanoiNguyen Tan Dung
17th28 – 31 October 2010 VietnamHanoiNguyen Tan Dũng
18th47 - 8 May 2011 IndonesiaJakartaSusilo Bambang Yudhoyono
19th414 – 19 November 2011 IndonesiaBaliYudhoyono
20th3 – 4 April 2012 CambodiaPhnom PenhHun Sen
21st17- 20 November 2012 CambodiaPhnom PenhHun Sen