Imran Khan steps up pressure, party MPs will quit Pakistan parliament

  • Members of Parliament from Pakistan’s Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party will quit their seats in the House as the PTI founder and former cricketer Imran Khan steps up his protest against what he calls electoral fraud in the 2013 elections, as per media reports.  

    The plan to quit Parliament was announced by PTI vice-chairman Shah Mehmood Qureshi.

    Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif’s Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) had emerged victorious in last year’s general elections, raising hopes of political stability after a peaceful democratic transition in this troubled South Asian country.



    Tagged as: Pakistan, Tehreek-e-Insaf, PTI, Imran Khan, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Nawaz Sharif, Pakistan Muslim League, PML-N, world news