Winners of the World Taekwondo Championships

Next Story

Global Cybersecurity Index 2017: Singapore Tops the List

World Map Showing Winners of the World Taekwondo Championships
World Map Depicts the Number of Medals Won by Nations at the World Taekwondo Championships


If you have a theme, we have a map. Contact us for your custom mapping requirements
+1 408 637 0064

Taekwondo is a popular form of martial arts. Taekwondo, which developed in Korea during the 1940s and 50s, uses a number of techniques such as jumping, spinning kicks, head-height kicks, and fast kicking. Taekwondo combines the traditional Korean martial arts Chinese martial arts, along with Karate.

Today taekwondo is one of the most popular martial art sports that is practiced around the world. Along with Judo, Taekwondo is the other Asian sport that has been a part of the Olympics since 2000. It was also included in the Commonwealth Games in 2010. A number of tournaments are held in Taekwondo, and one of the most popular of these is the World Taekwondo Championships, organized by the World Taekwondo Federation every two years.

The inaugural World Taekwondo Championships was held in Seoul, South Korea in 1973. Since that time, the tournament has been hosted all around the world. South Korea has been the most successful nation in Taekwondo, winning a total of 232 medals. Spain is the second most successful nation with 109 medals, while the United States occupies the third spot with a total of 83 medals to date.

Chinese Taipei (Taiwan), Turkey, Mexico, Iran, and Germany have also done quite well at the World Taekwondo Championships winning 80, 65, 64, 54, and 51 medals respectively. Countries whose medal tally is between 21 and 50 are China, France, Russia, the Netherlands, Canada, Thailand, and Italy. Meanwhile, Great Britain, Australia, Egypt, Ivory Coast, Cuba, Brazil, Greece, Azerbaijan, Denmark, the Philippines, Croatia and Morocco have managed to win between 10 and 20 medals.

The list is long of the number of nations that have won less than 10 medals. Some of notables are; Japan, Sweden, Vietnam, Belgium, Afghanistan, Saudi Arabia, and Colombia to name a few.

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *