Countries That Use the Dollar as Their Currency

Next Story

Top Ten Winners of the Karate World Championships

World Map Showing Countries That Use Dollar as Their Currency
The World Map Depicts the Nations That Use Dollar as Their Main Currency


If you have a theme, we have a map. Contact us for your custom mapping requirements
+1 408 637 0064

The dollar is one of the most popular and widely used currencies around the world. The United States dollar is the most traded currency around the world, and is being used by a number of nations as their prime currency. But, there are several nations which use different dollars, from the United States dollar, as their currency.

The US dollar is the most powerful currency around the globe and is accepted for most international transactions. In fact, the US dollar also plays a pivotal role in the foreign exchange rate market for currencies of other nations. The US dollar acts as a benchmark for nations that peg their currencies to the USD’s value. There are currently seven countries other than the United States that have the US dollar as their prime currency. These other seven nations are; Timor-Leste, El Salvador, Federated States of Micronesia, Ecuador, Palau, Marshall Islands, and Zimbabwe.

Zimbabwe had its own dollar until 2009. But the nation effectively abandoned it 2009, and in 2015 the Zimbabwean dollar was demonetized. Apart from the US dollar, other currencies regularly used in Zimbabwe are the Euro, Australian dollar, Chinese Renminbi, Japanese yen, Pound sterling, south African rand, Botswana pula, and the Indian rupee.

There are many nations which have other dollars as their currency. These dollars are either in the name of their country or region. The currency in Australia and its territories is the Australian dollar, while in Canada it is the Canadian dollar. Similarly, nations like Dominica, Fiji, Jamaica, Liberia, New Zealand and its territories, Guyana and a few other nations and territories use the ‘dollar’ as their currency. Interestingly, Hong Kong, which is a Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China, uses the Hong Kong dollar, while China uses Renminbi as its currency.

Meanwhile, Malaysia and Spain are two nations that previously used dollars as their currency. Prior to 1993, the official national currency of Malaysia was the Malaysian dollar. However, in 1993, Malaysia adopted the Ringgit as its currency.

The table below provides information on the countries which use dollar as their currency.


Countries/Territories Currency
Belize Belize dollar
Timor-Leste United States dollar
Ecuador United States dollar
El Salvador United States dollar
Marshall Islands United States dollar
Federated States of Micronesia United States dollar
Palau United States dollar
United States and its territories United States dollar
Zimbabwe United States dollar
Antigua and Barbuda East Caribbean dollar
Australia and its territories Australian dollar
Bahamas Bahamian dollar
Barbados Barbadian dollar
Bermuda Bermuda dollar
Brunei Brunei dollar (Alongside the Singapore dollar)
Canada Canadian dollar
Cayman Islands Cayman Islands dollar
Dominica East Caribbean dollar
Fiji Fijian dollar
Grenada East Caribbean dollar
Guyana Guyanese dollar
Hong Kong Hong Kong dollar
Jamaica Jamaican dollar
Kiribati Kiribati dollar along with the Australian dollar
Liberia Liberian dollar
Namibia Namibian dollar along with the South African rand
Nauru Australian dollar
New Zealand and its territories New Zealand dollar
Saint Kitts and Nevis East Caribbean dollar
Saint Lucia East Caribbean dollar
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines East Caribbean dollar
Singapore Singapore dollar
Solomon Islands Solomon Islands dollar
Suriname Surinamese dollar
Taiwan New Taiwan dollar
Trinidad and Tobago Trinidad and Tobago dollar
Tuvalu Tuvaluan dollar along with the Australian dollar
Malaysia Previously Used the Dollar
Spain Previously Used the Dollar

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *