Spain and France Announce Emergency restrictions to Combat the Spread of COVID-19 Novel Coronavirus Infections

  • Spain and France are the latest two major countries in Europe to announce emergency restrictions for combating the spread of COVID-19 coronavirus. They have followed the extreme measures followed by Italy to contain the spread of the infection. Italy is the worst sufferer among the European countries with over 1,440 deaths till now. The worst-hit European countries (other than Italy) are Spain and France, where the death toll has reached 191 and 91 respectively. After WHO’s head Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus urged counties across the world to take extreme measures to contain the spread of coronavirus pandemic, Spain and France have announced sweeping restrictions. Spain has allowed persons to leave home only for work or if they need to buy essential supplies/medicines. Most shops, cinemas, restaurants, and cafes are closed in France due to the COVID-19 scare. Meanwhile, the White House has said that the US President Donald Trump has tested negative for coronavirus. However, the United States has extended the European COVID-19 coronavirus travel ban and included the United Kingdom and Ireland on the list. It will come into effect on the coming Tuesday from 04:00 GMT. The total number of deaths from coronavirus in the UK has doubled to a total of 24 in just 24-hours. Australian PM Scott Morrison has ordered people (arriving in Australia) to maintain 14-day self-isolation so that the spread of COVID-19 novel coronavirus can be contained. A Reuters tally shows that till now the coronavirus pandemic has infected more than 150,000 people and killed more than 5,500 people.