Nadia Murad and Denis Mukwege Win Nobel Peace Prize 2018

  • Nobel Peace Prize for 2018 has been conferred to Nadia Murad and Denis Mukwege, both of whom have campaigned against rape in warfare. The duo was chosen for their respective works from 331 nominations (both individuals and organizations). Nadia Murad (an Iraqi Yazidi who was herself raped and tortured by the ISIS) campaigned to free Yazidi women, many of whom are still feared captured. Dr. Denis Mukwege (a Congolese gynecologist) along with his colleagues has reportedly treated thousands of victims. While announcing the Noble Peace Prize 2018, the Nobel Committee Chair Berit Reiss-Andersen said at Norwegian capital Oslo that this award is conferred to the duo for their “efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war”.