Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel Wins Australian F1 Grand Prix 2017

  • Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes has to settle for the second spot this year as Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari won the Australian Formula 1 Grand Prix 2017 with élan. It is Vettel’s first win since his Singapore Grand Prix win of 2015. The third position is held by Valtteri Bottas of Mercedes. Though Hamilton started in pole, Ferrari was simply quicker (especially in terms of pace and tyre wear). Melbourne’s home hero Daniel Ricciardo had a turbulent afternoon on Sunday as the Red Bull stopped on the way to the grid. Though it returned, the race was two laps old by then. The car again stopped after about 30 laps.