Lelisa Desisa and Rita Jeptoo win Boston Marathon

  • Ethiopia’s Lelisa Desisa secured the men’s title in the 117th edition of the Boston Marathon on Monday after finishing in 2 hours, 10 minutes and 22 seconds.

    In his second race at the 26.2-mile distance, Desisa finished 5 seconds ahead of Kenya's Micah Kogo to take home $150,000 and the olive wreath.

    Gebre Gebremariam of Ethiopia came a second behind Kogo in third place.

    Rita Jeptoo of Kenya won the women's race, claiming her second Boston victory. Jeptoo, who also won in 2006, finished in 2 hours, 26 minutes and 22 seconds. This marked her first win in a major race since taking a two-year hiatus after having a baby.

    Jeptoo managed a comfortable 33-second lead over Meseret Hailu of Ethiopia with defending champion Sharon Cherop of Kenya a further 3 seconds behind to come in at third place.

    Sadly, the celebratory atmosphere was marred by two explosions near the finish line approximately two hours after the winners crossed the line.

    Three people were killed and at least 140 were injured in the incident.

    Tagged as: ethiopian marathon winner, Boston Marathon winners, Lelisa Desisa, Rita Jeptoo