ICC names Steve Smith as the cricketer and Test Cricketer of the Year

  • The International Cricket Council has named, Steve Smith, Australia captain, as the Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year. As per media reports, Steve Smith is the fourth Australian to win the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy. Earlier winners include Ricky Ponting, Mitchell Johnson and Michael Clarke. AB Villiers of South Africa has won the ODI Cricketer of the Year award. He has bagged the award for the second year in a row. Australia captain Meg Lanning has been named as ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year.