Facts about India

by Vishal Kumar

Facts about India: India is the seventh largest country in the world and the second most populous democratic republic in the world. India is a peninsula, it is bounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the south-west, and the Bay of Bengal on the south-east. Know all the interesting facts about India.

 Quick Facts

Official Name Republic of India
Continent Asia
Lat Long of India 22 00 N, 77 00 E
Area   3,287,590 km2 (1,269,346 sq mi)
Population 1.38 billion
Capital of India New Delhi
Largest City of India Mumbai
Official Languages  Hindi and English
Major Religion Hindu 80.5%, Muslim 13.4%, Christian 2.3%, Sikh 1.9%, other 1.8%, unspecified 0.1% (2001 census)
National Day   January 26 (1950 – Republic Day), August 15 (1947 – Independence Day)
Form of Government The federal parliamentary constitutional republic
President    Droupadi Murmu
Vice President  Jagdeep Dhankhar
Prime Minister   Narendra Modi (BJP)
Currency  Indian rupee
GDP  $3.3 trillion (2022 Est.)
Calling Code +91
Time Zone  IST (UTC+05:30)
Internet TLD .in

Country Name :


What is the official name of India?

Republic of India

What is the capital of India?

New Delhi

What is the official language of India?

Hindi and English are the official languages of the Republic of India. Article 345 of the Constitution of India, however, allows the states to adopt their own official languages. At present, there are 22 official languages in India, apart from English.

What type of government does India have?

Federal, parliamentary, democratic, constitutional republic.

Who is the President of India?

Droupadi Murmu (Head of State)

Who is the Prime Minister of India?

Narendra Modi (Head of Government)

Where is India located?

South Asia

When did India gain independence from British colonial rule?

August 15, 1947

When did India become a republic nation?

January 26, 1950

How much area does India cover?

1,269,219 square miles (3,287,263 sq km)

How long is India’s coastline?

4350 miles (7000 kilometers)

Which is the highest point in India?

Kanchenjunga 28,169 feet (8,586 meters)

Which are India’s neighboring countries?

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, Myanmar, Nepal, and Pakistan.

India shares maritime boundaries with the Maldives and Sri Lanka.

What is the population of India?

1.38 billion – second most populous country in the world

How many states does India have?

28 States and 8 Union Territories

What are the names of the Indian states and their capitals?

State Capital
Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
Assam Dispur
Bihar Patna
Chhattisgarh Raipur
Goa Panaji
Gujarat Gandhinagar
Haryana Chandigarh
Himachal Pradesh Shimla
Jharkhand Ranchi
Karnataka Bengaluru
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal
Maharashtra Mumbai
Manipur Imphal
Meghalaya Shillong
Mizoram Aizawl
Nagaland Kohima
Odisha Bhubaneswar
Punjab Chandigarh
Rajasthan Jaipur
Sikkim Gangtok
Tamil Nadu Chennai
Tripura Agartala
Uttarakhand Dehradun
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow
West Bengal Kolkata
Telangana Hyderabad


Union Territory Capital
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair
Chandigarh Chandigarh
Dadra and Nagar Haveli Silvassa
Daman and Diu Daman
National Capital Territory of Delhi Delhi
Lakshadweep Kavaratti
Pondicherry Pondicherry

Which are the major cities of India?

New Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, and Bengaluru

Which are the major rivers of India?

River Ganga, River Yamuna, River Brahmaputra, River Indus, River Beas, River, Ravi, River Chenab, River Sutlej, River Jhelum River Narmada, River Tapti, River Krishna, River Godavari, River Kaveri.

Which are the major mountain ranges of India?

The Himalayan Range, The Karakoram Range, The Purvanchal, The Vindhya Range, The Satpura Range, The Aravali Range, The Sahyadri Mountains The Eastern Ghats

What currency does India use?

Indian Rupee –INR

What colors does the Indian national flag feature?

The Indian national flag is a rectangular tricolor and has three equal horizontal bands of saffron, white, and green. The Ashoka Chakra in the middle of the flag is a wheel in dark blue and has 24 spokes. Saffron represents valor and sacrifice; white represents peace, purity, and truth; green represents fertility and prosperity. The Ashoka Chakra represents righteousness and progress.

Who wrote the national anthem of India?

Jana Gana Mana (Thou art the ruler of the minds of all people), the national anthem of India was officially adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India on January 24, 1950. The anthem was written and the music was composed by Nobel laureate Rabindranath Tagore.

Related Maps