Political Map of India

The Map is Clickable to different States of India

Political Map of India
Description:India Political map showing the international boundary, states and union territories boundaries with their capitals and national capital. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

India political map shows the location of the 29 states and their capital cities. In a   world map, India   is located in South Asia along the geographical coordinates of 20º North latitude and 77º East longitude. The neighboring countries of India are Afghanistan, Pakistan, China, Nepal, Tibet, Bangladesh, Myanmar and Sri Lanka.

Location of India
India political map shows in detail the states, capital cities as well as the bordering countries of India. India is located in southern Asia with Bay of Bengal on its eastern side and Arabian Sea on its western side. It is located on the geographical coordinates of 20º North and 77º East latitude and longitude, respectively. The country covers an area of about 3,287,590 sq km. Kanchenjunga, located at an elevation of 8,598 meters is the highest point of India. This country has got a long coastline of 7,000 km.

India is surrounded by Afghanistan and Pakistan in the north-western side, China, Nepal and Tibet on the north-eastern side, Bangladesh and Myanmar in the eastern side and Sri Lanka in the southern side. The bordering countries are clearly shown on the India political map.

Capital City :  New Delhi
New Delhi is located on the geographical coordinates of 28° 36' North latitude and 77° 12' East longitude. It is situated at an elevation of 210 meters above sea level. While Indira Gandhi International Airport is the airport in the city for international   flights to India  , domestic airports adjacent to the IGI Airport operate flights to other cities within India.

Karol Bagh, Mahrauli, Palam, Kalkaji, Shakarpur and Paharganj are some of the city areas located in the Indian capital. New Delhi can be identified on the India Political Map by a yellow square.

Indian States and Union Territories
There are a total of 29 states and 7 Union Territories in India. The states of India along with their capital cities are as follows:
  • Jammu and Kashmir: Srinagar
  • Himachal Pradesh: Shimla
  • Punjab: Chandigarh
  • Uttaranchal: Dehradun
  • Haryana: Chandigarh
  • Rajasthan: Jaipur
  • Uttar Pradesh: Lucknow
  • Bihar: Patna
  • Sikkim: Gangtok
  • Assam: Dispur
  • Arunachal Pradesh: Itanagar
  • Manipur: Imphal
  • Nagaland: Kohima
  • Meghalaya: Shillong
  • Mizoram: Aizwal
  • Tripura: Agartala
  • West Bengal: Kolkata
  • Jharkhand: Ranchi
  • Madhya Pradesh: Bhopal
  • Chhattisgarh: Raipur
  • Gujarat: Gandhinagar
  • Orissa: Bhubaneshwar
  • Maharashtra: Mumbai
  • Andhra Pradesh: Hyderabad
  • Telangana: Hyderabad
  • Karnataka: Bangalore
  • Tamil Nadu: Chennai
  • Kerala: Thiruvananthapuram
  • Goa: Panaji

The Union Territories of India are:
  • Chandigarh
  • Daman and Diu
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli: Silvassa is the capital city.
  • Lakshadweep: The capital city of this island is Kavaratti.
  • Pondicherry
  • National Capital Territory of Delhi
  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands. The capital city of this island is Port Blair.

The states are highlighted on the political map of India with different colors. The state capitals are marked with a red circle on India map. Andaman and Nicobar Islands lies on the eastern side and Lakshadweep Island lies on the western side of India on the Bay of Bengal and the Arabian Sea respectively.

Indian Ocean lies in the southern part of India. The water bodies are shown on the printable map of India by blue color. Each of the state on the map has different colors for making it convenient for the user. The national and the international boundary are represented by black colored dotted lines.

DivisionPopulationArea(km.²)Area(Mi.2) LiteracyCapital
Andaman and Nicobar Islands3805818073311786.63Port Blair
Andhra Pradesh493867991602006185167.41Hyderabad (De jure - 2 June 2024) Amaravati (proposed)
Arunachal Pradesh1383727837433233265.38Itanagar
Dadra and Nagar Haveli34370949119076.24Silvassa
Daman and Diu2432471124387.1Daman
Himachal Pradesh6864602556732149582.8Shimla
Jammu and Kashmir125413022222368580267.16Srinagar, Jammu
Madhya Pradesh7262680930824511900969.32Bhopal
Tamil Nadu721470301300585021480.09Chennai
Uttar Pradesh1998123412409289301967.68Lucknow
West Bengal91276115887523426676.26Kolkata
36 divisions12101934223287240126913474.04

Note  : - Population: 2011 census, final figures (source [7]).
              Area: Jammu and Kashmir includes areas claimed by Pakistan and China.

Last Updated on: August 20, 2016