Incumbent President Kenyatta re-elected as New President of Kenya

  • Incumbent President of Kenya Uhuru Kenyatta (in office since 2013) has been declared winner by the election commission of Kenya (IEBC). While Kenyatta won 54.3 per cent votes, his opponent 72 years old Raila Odinga received 44.7 per cent votes. The opposing coalition National Super Alliance alleged massive rigging during election and also denounced the counting process. International observers comprising both former South African President Thabo Mbeki and former U.S. secretary of state John Kerry have endorsed the election. While Kenyatta called for peace in the country, International observers have asked protesters to channel their complaints through court instead of protesting on streets.

    Kenya Map