Political Map of Europe

The political map of Europe shows political boundaries and national capitals of European countries. Covering an area of 3.93 Million Square Miles, Europe is the second smallest continent in the world.

Political Map of Europe
Description:Political Map of Europe depicting International boundaries of European countries and country capitals marked with red dot.
Click to view Large Political Map of Europe

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited,its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Covering an area of 10,180,000 square kilometers (3,930,000 square miles), Europe is the second smallest continent in the world after Australia. Home to 739,000,000 people, Europe makes up about 11 percent of the total world population. Europeans boast a rich culture that has flourished around the continent since early stages of human history. The seat of Western Culture, Europe saw the growth of the great civilizations of the Greeks and Romans.

Europe was also the birthplace of the Renaissance and Reformation. Great thinkers and philosophers such as Socrates, Plato and Aristotle; artists like Leonardo da Vinci, Raphael, and Michelangelo; explorers and scientists like Christopher Columbus, Galileo, Newton and Einstein, were all born on European soil. Europe also saw the rise of Industrial Revolution, which brought major changes in the fields of agriculture, transportation, and manufacturing. The cultural, historical, and political diversity of Europe is greater than any other continent of the world.

Europe Facts

Area10,180,000 square kilometers (3,930,000 square miles)
Estimated Population 739 million
Highest Point Mt. Elbrus, Russia (5633 meters)
Lowest Point Volga Delta, Caspian Sea (-28.0 meters)
Longest River The Volga - Russia (3,690 kilometers)
Largest Lake Ladoga - Russia (18130 square kilometers)
Largest Country Russia (3,955,818 square kilometers of Russia are in Europe) Ukraine is the largest country entirely in Europe (579,330 square kilometers)
Smallest Country Vatican City (0.44 square kilometers)

Modern Europe is split into Eastern Europe and Western Europe on the basis of political and economic alliances. Though there are many different possible ways to divide the continent, the United Nations Organization has identified 9 countries, all located in western Europe, that are designated 'Western Europe' because of their common economic and cultural interests. Those countries are Belgium, the Netherlands, Austria, Germany, Monaco, France, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, and Switzerland.

Here is a list of all the European Countries