Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / USA Map / Guam Map

Guam Map

Follow us on
facebookicon twitter-icon pintesticon
Where is Guam ?
Guam is an organized, unincorporated territory of the United States located in the western Pacific Ocean. It is one of five U.S. territories with an established civilian government. Guam is listed as one of 16 Non-Self-Governing Territories by the Special Committee on Decolonization of the United Nations.

Guam Map

More Guam Maps

Guam is among the 16 territories of the United States that have a non-self-governing status. It is part of the Mariana islands in the Pacific Ocean, and is the largest island in that group. See the Guam map for the important locations.

Today, military bases cover about 29 percent of the total area of the island, with Naval bases, a Coast Guard sector, an Air Force Base, and Apra Harbor. The island of Guam has a strategic location for the United States, which is why the US Air Force and Navy use it as a hub. The capital of Guam is Hagatna (or Agana as shown on the map), though the largest village in Guam is called Dededo. Guam has a total area of about 541.3 square kilometers (209 square miles), and a population of about 160,000. The indigenous people of Guam are called the Chamorros, who continue to inhabit Guam, making up about 37 percent of the population. The rest of the population is made up of Filipinos, Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Spanish and other European descent.

The Spanish-American War saw United States taking control of Guam, which was part of the Treaty of Paris. During the Second World War, the island was attacked and captured by Japan. After an occupation lasting 31 months, Guam was freed by United States in 1944 during the Battle of Guam.

Most of the economy is driven by tourism, with contribution from local businesses as well. The island is popular among the Japanese, from where it receives about 75% of the total number of tourists. Even though Guam receives payment transfers from the US federal treasury, the local taxes are paid into the Guam treasury.

There are 19 Districts in Guam -

NamePopulation 2010Population 2000Area(km.²)Area(mi.²)
Agana Heights (Tutuhan)3,8083,94031
Agat (Hågat)4,9175,6562610
Asan-Maina (Assan-Ma'ina)2,1372,090166
Barrigada (Barigåda)8,8758,652239
Chalan Pago-Ordot (Chålan Pågu-Otdot)6,8225,923166
Dededo (Dededu)44,94342,9807830
Hagatna (Hagåtña)1,0511,10031
Inarajan (Inalåhan)2,2733,0524919
Merizo (Malesso')1,8502,163166
Mongmong-Toto-Maite (Mongmong-To'to-Maite')6,8255,84552
Santa Rita (Sånta Rita)6,0847,5004417
Sinajana (Sinahånña)2,5922,85331
Talofofo (Talo'fo'fo)3,0503,2154417
Tamuning-Tumon-Harmon (Tamuneng-Tomhom)19,68518,012166
Umatac (Humåtak)782887166
Yigo (Yigu)20,53919,4749135
Yona (Yo'ña)6,4806,4845220

Last Updated Date: August 9th, 2017

The national flag of Guam was formally adopted on February 9, 1948.
Official Name Territory of Guam
Lat Long13° 30' 0 N, 144° 48' 0 E
Area544 sq km
Largest CityDededo
Official LanguagesEnglish, Philippine
Major ReligionNorth European
National DayDiscovery Day, first Monday in March (1521)
Form of GovernmentTerritorial presidential constitutional republic
PresidentDonald Trump
Vice PresidentNA
Prime MinisterNA
CurrencyUnited States dollar (USD)
GDP$2.5 billion 2000 estimate
Calling Code+1-671
Time Zone(UTC+10)
GovernorEddie Baza Calvo

FAQs and Answers on History and Geography

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."
For further info please get in touch with us at