Political Map of Australia

Political Map of Australia
Description:Political map of Australia shows national capital, state capital with international and state boundary. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Australia is divided into six states and three internal territories, as well as other various external territories off the mainland, which includes six island territories and the Australian Antarctic Territory.
Australia's six states are South Australia, New South Wales, Victoria, Western Australia, Queensland, and Tasmania, which is located on an island just off the southern coast of Australia. These six are the federated states of Australia, and are under direct rule of the Queen.

The most populous of Australia's states is New South Wales, with a population of over seven million people. New South Wales is situated on the southeastern coast of Australia, with its capital and largest city in Sydney.

Western Australia, though its population numbers around 2.4 million, is the largest of Australia's states by area, covering 2,645,615 square kilometers (1,021,478 square miles), and the western third of the country.

Also located on mainland Australia are the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory, which are both self-governing. The Australian Capital Territory is the seat of government of Australia, which is centered in Canberra.

The external Australian territories include Norfolk Island, Christmas Island, and Cocos (Keeling) Islands.

Australia States/Territories and their Capitals
Australian Capital Territory323,6652,365913Canberra
Jervis Bay Territory3696726Canberra
New South Wales6,549,177801,425309,432Sydney
Northern Territory192,8981,356,170523,620Darwin
South Australia1,514,337984,377380,070Adelaide
Western Australia1,959,0882,527,621975,920Perth
Ashmore and Cartier Islands052Darwin
Coral Sea Islands Territory031Kingston

Last Updated on: June 18,2020

Canberra Map Canberra Map Western Australia Northern Territory Southern Australia Queensland New South Wales Victoria Tasmania Papua New Guinea