Map of South Australia

Map of South Australia
Western Australia Northern Australia Queensland New South Wales Victoria
Description: Map of South Australia showing the state capital, major cities, towns, airports, roads, rail network, lakes with state boundaries. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Facts about South Australia
DemonymSouth Australian, Croweater
GovernmentConstitutional monarchy
Area1043514 sq km
Population1,698,660 (2016 est.)
Time zoneUTC+9:30 (ACST), UTC+10:30 (ACDT)
Web sitewww.sa.gov.au
Places to VisitCanoe the Coorong, Adelaide’s cultural precinct, Off Piste, Hahndorf Walking Tours, Murray River, Gawler Ranges, Mr Mick, Naracoorte Caves, Head of Bight, Tailem Bend's pink lake, Remarkable Rocks, Pool of Siloam, Magnetic Hill, Umpherston Sinkhole, Lake Eyre, Hallett Cove's ice age, Whyalla's giant cuttlefish, Piccaninnie Ponds, Farina, Murphy's Haystacks, Pearson Island, The Painted Desert, Naracoorte Caves, Dalhousie Springs, Mt Gambier's Blue Lake, Whispering Wall, The underground homes of Coober Pedy, Kangaroo Island's Little Sahara, Wilpena Pound, Woomera Prohibited Area, Maralinga, Port Lincoln tuna

South Australia is an Australian state located in the South-central part of the country. Covering a total land area of 379,725 square miles, it is the fourth-largest state in Australia. The estimated population of the state is 1,698,660.

South Australia is bordered by Western Australia to the west, by the Northern Territory to the north, by Queensland to the north-east, by New South Wales to the east, by Victoria to the south-east. To the south, South Australia borders the Great Australian Bight and the Indian Ocean.

Adelaide is the capital city of South Australia. With an estimated population of more than 1.2 million, it is the fifth-largest city in Australia. The city serves as the administrative and commercial center of the state.
Before the arrival of the British colonists in the nineteenth century, South Australia inhabited by aboriginal groups. On July 26, 1836, the region was first proclaimed as a free state and the first settlement was established at Kingscote, Kangaroo Island. In 1857, the state was granted responsible government and in 1901 it was officially proclaimed a state.

Today, South Australia is an advancing state and is characterized by rich culture. The state government functions in the framework of a constitutional monarchy. Kevin Scarce is the Governor.

Agriculture, manufacturing, finance and mining are the major sectors of the economy of South Australia. Education and defence technology are some of the rapidly growing industries in the state.

South Australia is an eco-tourism paradise. With Kangaroo Island, the Flinders Ranges, and the Adelaide Hills, the wilderness retreats in the state are adventurous. The other major destinations in the state include the Eyre Peninsula, Nullarbor Plain, Murray River National Park, Seal Bay Conservation Park, Troubridge Island, Neptune Island, and the Clare Valley.

  Local government areas of South Australia  
NameCouncil SeatRegionArea (sq km)Population (2016)
City of AdelaideAdelaideMetropolitan Adelaide15.5723,169
Adelaide Hills CouncilWoodsideMetropolitan Adelaide795.08 40,031
City of BurnsideTusmoreMetropolitan Adelaide27.5345,034
City of CampbelltownRostrevorMetropolitan Adelaide24.3551,889
City of Charles SturtWoodvilleMetropolitan Adelaide52.14114,209
Town of GawlerGawlerMetropolitan Adelaide41.122,617
City of Holdfast BayBrightonMetropolitan Adelaide13.7237,262
City of MarionSturtMetropolitan Adelaide55.588,983
City of MitchamTorrens ParkMetropolitan Adelaide75.5566,347
City of Norwood Payneham & St PetersNorwoodMetropolitan Adelaide15.137,340
City of OnkaparingaNoarlunga CentreMetropolitan Adelaide518.4168,788
City of PlayfordElizabethMetropolitan Adelaide344.988,222
City of Port Adelaide EnfieldPort AdelaideMetropolitan Adelaide97123,753
City of ProspectProspectMetropolitan Adelaide7.8120,910
City of SalisburySalisburyMetropolitan Adelaide158.1138,534
City of Tea Tree GullyModburyMetropolitan Adelaide95.21100,155
City of UnleyUnleyMetropolitan Adelaide14.2938,465
Town of WalkervilleGilbertonMetropolitan Adelaide3.577,671
City of West TorrensHiltonMetropolitan Adelaide37.0755,620
District Council of CedunaCedunaEyre Peninsula5427.13,797
District Council of CleveCleveEyre Peninsula4506.71,908
District Council of EllistonEllistonEyre Peninsula65001,169
District Council of Franklin HarbourCowellEyre Peninsula32831,355
District Council of KimbaKimbaEyre Peninsula3986.21,125
District Council of Lower Eyre PeninsulaCumminsEyre Peninsula47714,820
City of Port AugustaPort AugustaEyre Peninsula1153.114,669
City of Port LincolnPort LincolnEyre Peninsula30.414,593
District Council of Streaky BayStreaky BayEyre Peninsula62322,181
District Council of Tumby BayTumby BayEyre Peninsula2615.92,757
Wudinna District CouncilWudinnaEyre Peninsula5393.81,314
City of WhyallaWhyallaEyre Peninsula1032.523,028
Barossa CouncilAngastonCentral91222,514
District Council of Barunga WestPort BroughtonCentral 2,631
District Council of Clare and Gilbert ValleysClareCentral 8,743
District Council of the Copper CoastKadinaCentral77312,901
Flinders Ranges CouncilQuornCentral41981,784
Regional Council of GoyderBurraCentral6718.94,285
Light Regional CouncilKapundaCentral1277.613,658
District Council of Mallala Central932.18,385
District Council of Mount RemarkableMelroseCentral3424.52,951
Northern Areas Council Central 4,866
District Council of Orroroo Carrieton Central 938
District Council of PeterboroughPeterboroughCentral  
Port Pirie Regional CouncilPort PirieCentral 18,076
Wakefield Regional CouncilBalaklavaCentral3469.46,756
District Council of Yorke PeninsulaMaitlandCentral583411,736
Alexandrina CouncilGoolwaSouthern and Hills1826.823,160
Kangaroo Island CouncilKingscoteSouthern and Hills4400.14,612
District Council of Mount BarkerMount BarkerSouthern and Hills 29,864
City of Victor HarborVictor HarborSouthern and Hills386.513,608
District Council of YankalillaYankalillaSouthern and Hills750.64,577
Berri Barmera Council Murray Mallee50811,240
The Coorong District CouncilMeningieMurray Mallee8830.65,825
Gerard Community CouncilWinkieMurray Mallee85.996
District Council of Karoonda East MurrayKaroondaMurray Mallee44151,193
District Council of Loxton Waikerie Murray Mallee79574,612
Mid Murray Council Murray Mallee79578,511
Rural City of Murray BridgeMurray BridgeMurray Mallee 19,402
Renmark Paringa CouncilRenmarkMurray Mallee915.59,882
Southern Mallee District CouncilPinnarooMurray Mallee60002,189
District Council of GrantMount GambierSoutheast19048,652
Kingston District CouncilKingston SESoutheast3337.72,469
City of Mount GambierMount GambierSoutheast30821,256
Naracoorte Lucindale CouncilNaracoorteSoutheast4516.78,489
District Council of RobeRobeSoutheast1091.11,480
Tatiara District CouncilBordertownSoutheast64766,660
Wattle Range CouncilMillicentSoutheast3923.512,554
Anangu Pitjantjatjara YankunytjatjaraUmuwaOutback1026502,230
District Council of Coober PedyCoober PedyOutback77.81,913
Maralinga TjarutjaCedunaOutback102863105
Nepabunna Community CouncilNepabunnaOutback76.3753
Outback Areas Community Development TrustPort AugustaOutback6243393,959
Municipal Council of Roxby DownsRoxby DownsOutback1104,484
Yalata Community Outback4563100

Last Updated on: February 24, 2020