Facts about Australia

Quick Facts

Official Name Commonwealth of Australia
Lat Long27° 00 S, 133° 00 E
Area7,741,220 sq km
Largest CitySydney
Official LanguagesEnglish
Major ReligionProtestant 30.1% (Anglican 17.1%, Uniting Church 5.0%, Presbyterian and Reformed 2.8%, Baptist, 1.6%, Lutheran 1.2%, Pentecostal 1.1%, other Protestant 1.3%), Catholic 25.3% (Roman Catholic 25.1%, other Catholic .2%), other Christian 2.9%, Orthodox 2.8%, Buddhist 2.5%, Muslim 2.2%, Hindu 1.3%, other 1.3%, none 22.3%, unspecified 9.3% (2011)
National DayJanuary 1, 1901 (from the federation of UK colonies)
Form of GovernmentFederal parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Vice PresidentNA
Prime MinisterMalcolm Turnbull
CurrencyAustralian dollar (AUD)
GDP$1.241 trillion (2015)
Calling Code61
Time Zonevarious (UTC+8 to +10.5) Summer (DST) various (UTC+8 to +11.5)
Internet TLD.au
GovernorSir Peter Cosgrove
What is the capital of Australia?
Canberra is the capital city of Australia. It has a population of over 350,000 inhabitants.

As the seat of the government of Australia, Canberra is the site of Parliament House, the High Court and numerous government departments and agencies.

Where is Australia?
The continent of Australia is located between the Indian Ocean and the South Pacific Ocean, and has a total area of 2,941,299 square miles.

What is the largest city of Australia?
Sydney is the largest and most populous city in Australia and the state capital of New South Wales. Sydney has a reputation as an international center for commerce, arts, fashion, culture, entertainment, music, education and tourism, making it one of the best world cities.

What countries border Australia?
Lying southeast of Asia, it is bounded by Indonesia, East Timor and Papua New Guinea to the north, the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and New Caledonia to the northeast and New Zealand to the southeast.

What are the administrative divisions of Australia?
Australia has six states and two major mainland territories. The six states are: New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia.

Who are the political leaders of Australia?
Monarch: Elizabeth II
Governor-General: Peter Cosgrove
Prime Minister: Scott Morrison

What currency is used in Australia?
The Australian dollar, denoted by the code AUD, is the currency of the Commonwealth of Australia.

What is the official language of Australia?
English is the primary language of Australia. In 1788, there were about 250 separate Aboriginal languages spoken in Australia, plus dialects. Today, only two-thirds of these languages survive. In addition to these, there are also the languages of immigrants from Europe, the Middle East and Asia.

What is the religion of Australia?
Australia is a predominantly Christian country, with around 64 percent Australians identifying themselves as Christians. The biggest Christian denominations continue to be Catholic, followed by Anglican and the Uniting Church. The biggest non-Christian religions are Buddhism, Islam and Hinduism.

What is the economy of Australia like?
Australia is highly industrialized and manufactured goods account for most of the gross domestic product. Its chief industries include mining, food processing, and the manufacture of industrial and transportation equipment, chemicals, iron and steel, textiles, machinery, and motor vehicles. The continent also has valuable mineral resources, including coal, iron, bauxite, copper, tin, gold, silver, uranium, nickel, tungsten, mineral sands, lead, zinc, natural gas, and petroleum; the country is an important producer of opals and diamonds.

Australia's largest export markets are Japan, China, the US, South Korea, and New Zealand. It is the world's fourth-largest exporter of wine, contributing more than $2 billion per annum to the nation's economy.

When is the national day of Australia celebrated?
Australia's official national day is celebrated on January 26 every year. It commemorates the landing of the First Fleet in Sydney Cove on that day in 1788. Australia became an independent nation on March 3, 1986 when all legal jurisdictions over any part of Australia by the British Nation ceased. Oddly, this date is not generally recognized or celebrated at all in Australia.

What is the name of the oldest newspaper of Australia?
The oldest newspaper in Australia is the Sydney Morning Herald, published in 1831.

Who created the Sydney Opera House?
The design for the Sydney Opera House was chosen after the New South Wales Government conducted a competition in the late 1950's. Danish Architect Jorn Utzon's vision was the winning design. Unfortunately in 1966 Jorn Utzon resigned from the project because of disagreements with the Government. The building was completed in 1973 and Queen Elizabeth II officially opened it in that year. Jorn Utzon died in 2008 without ever returning to Sydney to see in person the amazing Opera House he designed.

What is the Melbourne Cup?
The Melbourne Cup is a horse racing event that was first hosted in 1861, and is still held every year on the first Tuesday in November. It is dubbed "the race that stops a nation".

Last Updated on: December 23, 2016