Map of New South Wales

Map of New South Wales
Description: Map of New South Wales Australia showing the Naional capital, state capital, major cities, towns, airports, roads, rails, etc Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Facts about New South Wales State of Australia
DemonymNew South Welshmen
GovernmentConstitutional monarchy
Area809,444 sq km
Population7.544 million (Sept 2014 est.)
Time zoneUTC+10 (AEST)
Web sitewww.nsw.gov.au
Places to VisitSydney Harbour, Hunter Valley, Bondi Beach, Blue Mountains, Byron Bay, Murray River, Mungo National Park, Lord Howe Island, Mt Kosciuszko, Coffs Harbour

New South Wales is a state located in the eastern part of the Australian continent. It covers a total area of 312,528 square miles. The estimated population is 7.544 million.

As shown in the New South Wales Map, the state is bordered by Queensland to the north, Victoria to the south, and South Australia to the west. Tasman Sea, which forms part of the Pacific Ocean borders New South Wales on the east.

First discovered by Captain James Cook, New South Wales was formally established as a colony on January 26, 1788 . After more than fifty years in 1856, responsible government was granted to the colony. At the beginning of the twentieth century on January 1, 1901, the colony formally gained statehood.

The administration of New South Wales functions in framework of a constitutional monarchy. The Governor of the state is the head of the state; he is the representative of the Queen of Australia. Presently, Marie Bashir is the Governor. The Premier of the state advises the governor on important issues. Barry O' Farrell is the Premier of New South Wales.

The major cities of New South Wales shown in the map are: Armidale, Lismore, Cobar, Louth, Barnato, Hillston, Orange, Sydney, and Wollongong. Canberra, which is the Capital of the country is enclaved within New South Wales. It houses all the important government buildings. National Museum and National Library, Australian War Memorial, Australian Institute of Sport, and many other government agencies are located in Canberra.

Covering an area of 4,689.1 square miles, and housing an estimated population of 4,575,532, Sydney is the largest city in Australia. The city is home to the magnificent Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge, Hyde Park, Bondi Beach, and the Royal Botanic Gardens.

One of the most eclectic states, New South Wales is a perfect holiday destination. From national parks, rain forests, deserts, beaches to the historical sandstone edifices, New South Wales offers ample of recreational opportunities.

The state has more than 780 national parks and reserves. The major national parks are: Royal National Park, Mungo National Park, Wadbilliga National Park, Molton National Park, and Kosciusko National Park.

Mount Kosciuszko is the highest point in New South Wales. Located in the Snowy Mountains in the Kosciusko National Park, the mountain stands at a height of 2,228 meters.

The other mountain peaks found in the state are:
Mount Banda Banda, Mount Bindo, Mount Gower, Mount Solitary, Round Mountain, Mount Gulaga, Mount Grenfell, and Mount Chincogan.

The New South Wales Map shows the major rivers and lakes in the state. Some of the major rivers include: Mossman River, Georges River, Dawson River, Gloucester River, Rowleys River, Richmond River, Clarence River, and Brunswick River.

The state is also home to numerous lakes. They are: Lake George, Lake Albert, Lake Albina, Lake Mungo, Lake Mulwala, Lake Cowal, and Lake Wollumbola.

Owing to such wonderful tourist spots, tourism becomes a significant part of the state's economy. The largest economy in Australia, New South Wales is characterized by a knowledge intensive economy. Information technology, financial services contribute to the state's economy. Agriculture is also important. The major trade partners of the state include: China, United States, Germany, Japan, New Zealand, and Korea.

Local government areas of New South Wales
AshfieldGosfordDungog ShireGwydir Shire
Auburn CityHawkesburyGloucester ShireInverell Shire
BankstownWollondilly ShireGreat Lakes CouncilLiverpool Plains Shire
BlacktownWyong ShireLake MacquarieMoree Plains Shire
Botany BayBellingen ShireMaitlandNarrabri Shire
Burwood CouncilClarence Valley CouncilMuswellbrook ShireTamworth Regional Council
Camden CouncilCoffs HarbourNewcastleTenterfield Shire
CampbelltownGreater TareePort Stephens CouncilUralla Shire
Canada BayKempsey ShireSingleton CouncilWalcha Shire
CanterburyNambucca ShireUpper Hunter ShireBathurst Regional Council
FairfieldPort Macquarie-Hastings CouncilKiamaBland Shire
The Hills ShireLord Howe IslandShellharbourBlayney Shire
HolroydAlburyShoalhavenCabonne Shire
Hornsby ShireBalranald ShireWingecarribee ShireCowra Shire
Hunter's HillBerrigan ShireWollongongForbes Shire
HurstvilleConargo ShireBallina ShireLachlan Shire
KogarahCorowa ShireByron ShireLithgow
Ku-ring-gai CouncilDeniliquin CouncilKyogle CouncilMid-Western Regional Council
Lane CoveGreater Hume ShireLismoreOberon Shire
LeichhardtJerilderie ShireRichmond Valley CouncilOrange
LiverpoolMurray ShireTweed ShireParkes Shire
Manly CouncilTumbarumba ShireBega Valley ShireWeddin Shire
Marrickville CouncilUrana ShireBombala ShireBogan Shire
MosmanWakool ShireBoorowa ShireBourke Shire
North Sydney CouncilWentworth ShireCooma-Monaro ShireBrewarrina Shire
ParramattaCarrathool ShireEurobodalla ShireCobar Shire
PenrithCoolamon ShireGoulburn Mulwaree CouncilCoonamble Shire
Pittwater CouncilCootamundra ShireHarden ShireDubbo
RandwickGriffithPalerang CouncilGilgandra Shire
RockdaleGundagai ShireQueanbeyanNarromine Shire
RydeHay ShireSnowy River ShireWalgett Shire
StrathfieldJunee ShireTumut ShireWarren Shire
Sutherland ShireLeeton ShireUpper Lachlan ShireWarrumbungle Shire
SydneyLockhart ShireYass Valley CouncilWellington Council
Warringah CouncilMurrumbidgee ShireYoung ShireBroken Hill
Waverley CouncilNarrandera ShireArmidale Dumaresq ShireCentral Darling Shire
WilloughbyTemora ShireGlen Innes Severn CouncilUnincorporated Far West
WoollahraWagga WaggaGunnedah Shire 
Blue MountainsCessnockGuyra Shire

Last Updated on: February 22, 2020

Queensland Map South Australia Map Victoria Map