Maps of World
We do magic to Maps
World Map / Map of USA / States / Map of Arizona

Map of Arizona

Follow us on
Where is Arizona ?
Arizona, situated in the South-west, is the sixth largest state in the USA. The capital of Arizona state is Phoenix.
Arizona Map Utah Map Nevada Map California Map Colorado Map New Mexico Map Mexico Map Mexico Map

Please Enter your email id

Please Select Country

Subscribe to Mailing list
About Arizona Map - Situated in the Southwestern region of the United States, Arizona is the sixth largest and 15th most populous state of the country. It is one of the Four Corner States and has Utah, Nevada, California, New Mexico, and Mexico as its neighbors.

History of Arizona
Home to many Native American tribes, Arizona was once a part of Mexico.
But following the Mexican American War (1847), under the terms of the Mexican Cessation of 1848, the United States took possession of Arizona and it became a part of New Mexico. During the American Civil War, Arizona supported the Confederate cause and along with New Mexico was claimed as a Confederate Territory in 1861. But, it split from New Mexico in 1863 to form a separate Arizona Territory. It had to wait for nearly five decades to be granted full statehood. On 14 February 14 1912, Arizona became the 48th state of the United States and was the last of the contiguous states to join the Union.

Arizona has a pronounced desert landscape and is well known for its extremely hot summers and mild winters. But, despite its dry climate, 27% of the state is forest. It boasts of a number of mountain ranges and plateaus including the Colorado Plateau and has the world’s largest strand of Ponderosa pine trees. Arizona is also home to the Grand Canyon, the Mogollon Rim (a ridge that extends for about 200 miles), and the well-known Barringer Meteorite Crater.  Some important rivers of the state include the Colorado River and Yaqui River.

Most Viewed Arizona Maps

Arizona became a hub of tourism in the 1920s and 1930s and tourism continues to be major industry. Divided into five distinct regions, Arizona offers its visitors a vast array of destinations to choose from.

Northern Arizona: Your trip to Arizona wouldn’t be complete with a visit to the Grand Canyon. Carved by the Colorado River for thousands of years, this iconic canyon is famous for its scenic beauty, hiking trails, and campsites. The Monument Valley, the Havasu Falls, Painted Desert, and the Petrified Forest National Park are other important sites.

North-Central Arizona: Important tourist sites include the town of Sedona, which is famous for its red sandstone formations, Barringer Crater, Mogollon Rim, Montezuma Castle, and the towns of Prescott and Jerome.

Arizona’s West Coast: Important tourist destinations in this part of the state include the Hoover Dam, Lake Havasu which is known for its water sports and river tours, the gold mining towns of Kingman and Oatman, Yuma Territorial State Prison State Park, and Colorado River Indian Tribes reservation in Parker.

Phoenix and Central Arizona: This region is famous for the beautiful golf courses and resorts. Important tourist attractions include the Heard Museum, the famous Camelback Mountain, and the desert city of Scottsdale.

Tucson and Southern Arizona: Important tourist destinations include Fort Huachuca in Sierra Vista, Copper Queen Mine in Bisbee, the cowboy town of Tombstone known for the legendary sheriff Wyatt Earp, the Art Colony of Tubac, Sonoran Desert, Saguaro National Park, and Tucson which is known for its fairs, festivals, and events.

Last Updated On : Sept 10, 2014

Arizona Flag
The official flag of Arizona consists of 13 rays of colors red and yellow alternately. There is a 5 point star at the center of the blue background.It was adopted on 25th January 1917.
NicknameGrand Canyon State
Joined the UnionFeb 14, 1912
Largest CityPhoenix
Area114,006 sq miles
Highest PointHumphreys Peak
Lowest PointColorado River
Time ZoneMountain: UTC-7
Official Website