Hawaii State Information

Information about Hawaii

Hawaii is the newest of the 50 states in the United States of America. It was admitted to the Union on August 21, 1959. It is the only American state to be wholly made up of islands. The scenic features, temperate tropical weather, appealing waters and torrents, and active volcanoes of Hawaii contribute to make it a famous spot for surfers, travelers, volcanologists, and natural scientists.

Capital of State Hawaii

The capital of Hawaii is Honolulu, which lies on the O'ahu Island. At the southeastern corner of the group of islands, the eight "major islands" are Maui, Kaua'i, Ni'ihau, Moloka'i, O'ahu, Kaho'olawe, Lāna'i, and Hawai'i. The last island is the biggest island in the archipelago and is frequently dubbed as "The Big Island".

Other than Florida, Alaska, and California, the state features the fourth most extensive shoreline in the U.S. and the length is around 750 miles. Hawaii covers a total area of 10,931 sq miles and in terms of area, it is the 43rd biggest state in the country. It is home to a population of 1,360,301 (2010 census). In 2003, the per capita income of the state was US$30,441.

Official Languages of Hawaii

English and Hawaiian are the two official languages in the state. Historically, the economy of Hawaii has been dependent on various sectors like whaling, sandalwood, pineapple, sugarcane, armed services, and education. Nevertheless, tourism is the biggest industry of the state, making a sizeable contribution to the Gross State Product. The main religion is Christianity.

Last Updated on: September 5th, 2017