Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Greece Map / Political Map of Greece

Political Map of Greece

political map of Greece Peloponnese Map Attica Map Central Greece Map Central Greece Map Attica Map Ionian Islands Map Ionian Islands Map Epirus Map Thessaly Map West Macedonia Map Central Macedonia Map East Macedonia and Thrace Map Mount Athos Map North Aegean Map North Aegean Map North Aegean Map North Aegean Map South Aegean Map South Aegean Map Crete Map Athens Map Athens Map Albania Map Albania Map Macedonia Map Bulgaria Map Turkey Map Turkey Map Turkey Map
Description: Greece Political map showing the international boundary, regions boundaries with their capitals and national capital. Disclaimer

Greece is located in southern Europe and shares land boundaries with Albania, Republic of Macedonia, Bulgaria, and Turkey. Administratively, Greece is divided into thirteen regions and one autonomous administrative unit.
The thirteen administrative units -
  • Attica in south-central Greece covers an area of about 1470 square miles (approximately 3808 square kilometers) and is home to a population of about 3,750,000. The national capital, Athens is also the capital of Attica.

  • Eastern Macedonia and Thrace is the northernmost administrative region of the country and covers an area of 5466 square miles (about 14,157 kilometers). With a population of 606, 170, the region has its capital at Komotini.

  • The administrative unit of Central Macedonia, with its capital at Thessaloniki covers an area of about 6,004 square miles (approximately 15,549 square kilometers) and houses a population of 1,874,590 people.

  • Western Macedonia, to the south west of Central Macedonia and to the north of Epirus and Thessaly covers an area of 3,649 square miles (about 9,451 square kilometers). With its capital at Kozani, Western Macedonia has a population of 282,120.

  • Epirus is the westernmost administrative region of peninsular Greece. It has its capital at Ioannina. Epirus covers a land area of 3,553 square miles (about 9,023 square kilometers) and has a population of 336,650.

  • The Ionian Islands covers all the islands in the Ionian Sea except Kythera. The island of Corfu, is the capital of the Ionian Islands region. The land area of the region covers 891 square miles (about 2,307 square kilometers) and the islands together are home to a population of 206, 470.

  • Thessaly, to the south of Western Macedonia, houses a population of 730,730. Larissa is the capital of Thessaly. The administrative unit covers an area of 5,420 square miles (about 14,037 square kilometers).

  • Central Greece to the north of Attica, has its capital at Lamia. Central Greece covers an area of about 6,004 square miles (15,549 square kilometers) and has about 546,870.

  • West Greece is located to the north of Peloponnese, has a population of 680, 190 and covers an area of about 3,649 square miles (9,451 square kilometers) Patras is the capital of West Greece.

  • The Peloponnese is the southernmost region of peninsular Greece. Tripoli is the capital of the Peloponnese and covers an area of 5,981 square miles (15,490 square kilometers). The region has a population of 581,980.

  • The North Aegean region covers 1481 square miles (about 3836 square kilometers). The capital of the North Aegean is at Mytilene. The North Aegean islands are home to a population of 197,810.

  • The South Aegean islands form an administrative region covers 2,041 square miles (5,286 square kilometers). With its capital at Ermoupoli, the region has a population of 308,610.

  • Crete with its capital at Heraklion has a population of 621,340. The region covers a land area of 3,189 square miles (8,259 square kilometers).

Besides the administrative regions, Mount Athos is an autonomous administrative unit and covers an area of 151 square miles (390 square kilometers). With its capital at Karyes, Mount Athos has a population of 1,830.

Epirus and Western Macedonia630,70918,6547,202Ioannina
Macedonia and Thrace2,481,75932,96912,729Thessaloniki
Mount Athos1,961336130Karyai (Karyes)
Peloponnese, Western Greece and the Ionian Islands1,528,77129,14711,254Patras
Thessaly and Central Greece1,298,25929,58611,424Larissa
8 divisions10,934,097131,95850,950
Note  : - Population: 2001-03-18 census (usual residents).

PeripheryGreek namePopulationArea(km.²)Area(mi.²)Capital
Aegean NorthVoreio Aigaio205,2353,8361,481Mytilene
Aegean SouthNotio Aigaio298,4625,2862,041Hermoupolis
Greece CentralSterea Ellada558,14415,5496,004Lamia
Greece WestDytiki Ellada721,54111,3504,382Patras
Ionian IslandsIonia Nisia209,6082,307891Corfu
Macedonia CentralKentriki Makedonia1,874,59718,8117,263Thessaloniki
Macedonia East and ThraceAnatoliki Makedonia kai Thraki607,16214,1585,466Komotini
Macedonia WestDytiki Makedonia294,3179,4513,649Kozani
Mount AthosAgio Oros1,961336130Karyai
14 divisions10,934,097131,95850,949
Note  : - Population: 2001-03-18 census (usual residents).

Achaea318,9283,2711,263Patras (Patrai)
Aitolia and Akarnania219,0925,4612,109Missolongi (Mesolongion)
Arcadia91,3264,4191,706Tripolis (Tripolitza)
Attica3,894,5733,8081,470Athens (Athenai)
Corfu111,081641247Corfu (Kerkyra)
Corinth144,5272,290884Corinth (Korinthos)
Cyclades109,9562,572993Hermoupolis (Ermoupole)
Dodecanese188,5062,7141,048Rhodes (Rodos)
Euboea207,3054,1671,609Khalkis (Chalkida)
Evritania19,5181,869722Karpenissi (Karpenesion)
Heraklion291,2252,6411,020Heraklion (Candia, Megalokastron)
Ioannina161,0274,9901,927Ioannina (Yannina)
Kavala141,4992,111815Kavala (Cavalla)
Kefallinia37,756904349Argostoli (Argostolion)
Khania148,4502,376917Khania (Canea)
Laconia92,8113,6361,404Sparta (Sparte)
Larisa282,1565,3812,078Larisa (Larissa)
Lasithi75,7361,823704Agios Nikolaos
Levkas21,888356137Levkas (Leucadia)
Magnesia205,0052,6361,018Volos (Nea Ionia)
Messinia166,5662,9911,155Kalamata (Kalamai)
Mount Athos1,961336130Karyai (Karyes)
Rethymnon78,9571,496578Rethymnon (Rethymni)
Samos43,841778300Samos (Limin Vatheos, Vathy)
Serrai194,4833,9681,532Serrai (Serres)
Thessaloniki1,084,0013,6831,422Thessaloniki (Salonica)
Trikala132,6893,3841,307Trikala (Trikkala)
Zakynthos38,883406157Zakynthos (Zante)
52 divisions10,934,097131,95750,949
Note  : - Population: 2001-03-18 census.

Last Updated On : November 15, 2012


FAQs and Answers on History and Geography

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."
For further info please get in touch with us at