Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / European Union Map

European Union (EU) Map

The European Union is an Economic and Political alliance of 28 European Countries. There are presently 5 Candidate Countries and these will become Acceding countries once they complete accession negotiations and sign accession treaty.

Map of European Union

European Union  Map
Description : European Union Map shows the countries of Europe which are member of EU.

EU Map without Britain

EU Map without Britain

List of 28 Member Countries of the European Union (EU)

Sl. NoStateCapitalJoinedPopulationArea in km2CurrencyLanguages
1AustriaVienna Jan 1, 19958,443,00083,855EuroGerman
2BelgiumBrussels Founder (1952)11,041,30030,528EuroDutch, French & German
3BulgariaSofia Jan 1, 20077,327,200110,994Bulgarian Lev Bulgarian
4CroatiaZagrebJul 1, 20134,398,00056,594Croatian KunaCroatian
5CyprusNicosia May 1, 2004862,0009,251EuroGreek and Turkish
6Czech RepublicPrague May 1, 200410,505,40078,866Czech Koruna Czech
7DenmarkCopenhagen Jan 1, 19735,580,50043,075Danish Krone Danish
8EstoniaTallinn May 1, 20041,339,70045,227EuroEstonian
9FinlandHelsinki Jan 1, 19955,401,300338,424EuroFinnish ,Swedish
10FranceParis Founder (1952)65,397,900674,843EuroFrench
11GermanyBerlin Founder (1952)81,843,700357,021EuroGerman
12GreeceAthens Jan 1, 198111,290,900131,990EuroGreek
13HungaryBudapest May 1, 20049,957,70093,030Hungarian Forint Hungarian
14IrelandDublin Jan 1, 19734,582,80070,273EuroIrish, English
15ItalyRome Founder (1952)60,820,800301,338EuroItalian
16LatviaRiga May 1, 20042,041,80064,589Latvian Lats Latvian
17LithuaniaVilnius May 1, 20043,007,80065,200Lithuanian Litas Lithuanian
18LuxembourgLuxembourg Founder (1952)524,9002,586EuroFrench, German &Luxembourgish
19MaltaValletta May 1, 2004416,100316EuroMaltese & English
20NetherlandsAmsterdam Founder (1952)16,730,30041,543EuroDutch
21PolandWarsaw May 1, 200438,538,400312,685Polish Złoty Polish
22PortugalLisbon Jan 1, 198610,541,80092,390EuroPortuguese
23RomaniaBucharest Jan 1, 200720,121,641238,391Romanian Leu Romanian
24SlovakiaBratislava May 1, 20045,404,30049,035EuroSlovak
25SloveniaLjubljana May 1, 20042,055,50020,273EuroSlovene
26SpainMadrid Jan 1, 198646,196,300504,030EuroSpanish
27SwedenStockholm Jan 1, 19959,482,900449,964Swedish Krona Swedish
28United KingdomLondon Jan 1, 197362,989,600243,610Pound SterlingEnglish

European Union Facts
Union name: European Union (EU)
Created23 July 1952
Member states: 28 countries
Candidate Countries: Albania, Montenegro, Serbia, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey
Area4,324,782 sq km
Population503,890,016 (July 2013 est.)
GDP (PPP) 2013 estimate$16.332 trillion
GDP Per Capita$32,471.00
Anthem : Ode to Joy
Time zone(UTC+0 to +2) Summer - (UTC+1 to +3

Flag of European Union

About European Union

Established by the Maastricht Treaty of 1993 and consolidated by the Treaty of Lisbon in 2009, the European Union is a 28-member strong community of states that are geographically located in Europe. The European Union has a population of over 500 million people or about 7.3% of the population of the world.

The need for a body such as this was felt in order to prevent the consequences of nationalism taken to extreme ends, as had happened prior to the First and Second World Wars. The European Union formally began coming together after the formation of the the European Economic Community (EEC) in 1958. This sought to ease trade and travel restrictions and promote economic and political cooperation between European nations. In 2012, the European Union was awarded the Nobel Prize for Peace for its contributions "to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy, and human rights in Europe".

The founding member countries of the European Union are: Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and West Germany. Membership has risen to 28 countries, with another five candidate countries witing for approval to join. These are: Iceland, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, and Turkey. Several microstates in Europe are not EU members but use the common currency and cooperate with EU members in various policy areas. These include: Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and the Vatican.

Some of the European Union's institutions which have a bearing on various aspects of public policy in the EU are: the European Parliament (whose office-bearers are elected every five years), the European Central Bank, the Court of Justice of the European Union, the Court of Auditors, the Council of the European Union, the European Commission, and the European Council.

The common currency, the Euro, came into effect in 2002 and is now one of the world's major currencies. A common passport is also applicable in the Schengen Area which covers 22 European Union countries and four states (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland), which are part of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA).

Facts about the EU : 
  • List of current EU countries (in alphabetical order) :  Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.
  • Capital of the EU : Brussels (de facto, there is no official capital).
  • European Council President :  Donald Tusk
  • European Commission President :  Jean-Claude Juncker
  • European Parliament President  :  Antonio Tajani
  • EU Flag : Depicts 12 golden stars on a deep blue background.
  • EU Anthem : "Ode to Joy" by the great German composer, Ludwig van Beethoven.

Last Updated : March 23, 2017

You May Like

For further info please get in touch with
Bill Spicer Executive VP, MapXL
For US Queries
  +1 408 637 0064