Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Tanzania Map / Political Map of Tanzania

Political Map of Tanzania

Tanzania Political Map locates the important regions of the country together with the major cities and the border countries. Tanzania is located in Eastern Africa bordering the Indian Ocean. Dodoma is the national capital of Tanzania.

Political Map of Tanzania Dodoma City Zanzibar City Dar Es Salaam City Arusha City Bukoba City Geita City Iringa City Kigoma City Mbeya Morogoro City Moshi City Musoma Mwanza Shinyanga City Songea City Tabora City Tanga City RWANDA UGANDA KENYA MOZAMBIQUE MALAWI ZAMBIA DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO BURUNDI
Description : Tanzania Political map showing the international boundary, regions boundaries with their capitals and national capital. Disclaimer

Tanzania Location
Located in Eastern Africa, Tanzania borders the Indian Ocean. It is situated between Mozambique and Kenya. It on the geographical coordinates of 6° South and 35° East latitude and longitude respectively. The other border countries of Tanzania are Uganda, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Burundi, Zambia and Malawi.

The coastline measures 1,424 km. the total area covered by Tanzania is 945,087 sq km, out of which the land covers 886,037 sq km and the water bodies cover 59,050 sq km. Kilimanjaro, situated at an elevation 5,895 meters is the highest point of Tanzania.

Tanzania Political Map shows the important regions and cities of Tanzania together with its geographical location. Lake Victoria is located in the north.

Capital of Tanzania
Dodoma is the capital of Tanzania and lies on the geographical coordinates of 6° 48' South latitude and 39° 17' East longitude. It is highlighted on the Political Map of Tanzania by a red square. The Daressalaam and the Zanzibar airport are the nearest airports to this city.

Regions of Tanzania
The various regions (provinces) of Tanzania as shown on the Tanzania Map are:
  • Arusha
  • Mtwara
  • Ruvuma
  • Dodoma
  • Kagera
  • Shinyanga
  • Kigoma
  • Lindi
  • Manyara
  • Iringa
  • Morogoro
  • Kilimanjaro
  • Mwanza
  • Pemba North
  • Pemba South
  • Pwani
  • Dar es Salaam
  • Rukwa
  • Mara
  • Singida
  • Tabora
  • Mbeya
  • Tanga
  • Zanzibar North
  • Zanzibar Urban/West
  • Zanzibar Central/South

  • The capital cities of these places are indicated on the Tanzania Political Map by a white square.

    Tanzania Cities
    The important cities that are spread throughout the country are marked on the Printable Map of Tanzania by black dots. Some of these cities are:
  • Nansio
  • Sengerema
  • Same
  • Kondoa
  • Urambo
  • Kasulu
  • Chunya
  • Tunduru
  • Masasi
  • Liwale
  • Njombe

  • RegionPopulationArea(km.²)Area(mi.²)Capital
    Dar es Salaam2,497,9401,393538Dar es Salaam
    Geita   Geita
    Katavi   Mpanda
    Njombe   Njombe
    Pemba North186,013574222Wete
    Pemba South176,153332128Chake Chake
    Pwani889,15432,40712,512Dar es Salaam
    Simiyu   Bariadi
    Zanzibar North136,953470181Mkokotoni
    Zanzibar South and Central94,504854330Koani
    Zanzibar West391,00223089Zanzibar
    30 regions34,569,232882,565340,760

    Note  : -Population: 2002-08-25 census. Population figures provided by Karem

    Last Updated On : February 22, 2012


    "By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

    For further info please get in touch with us at