Home > Tanzania Map > Tanzania Independence Day

Tanzania Independence Day

by Vishal Kumar

National Day of Tanzania Declaration of Independence Independence Day, popularly known as Siku ya Uhuru in Tanzania, is celebrated on 9 December every year. Earlier, Tanzania used to be a…

National Day of Tanzania

Declaration of Independence

Independence Day, popularly known as Siku ya Uhuru in Tanzania, is celebrated on 9 December every year. Earlier, Tanzania used to be a German colony and was known as Tanganyika. However, in the year 1918, it became a British mandate territory. On 9 December 1961, Tanganyika got its freedom from the British rule. Later in 1964, Tanganyika got merged with Zanzibar to become Tanzania. This is an important day when Tanzanians commemorate their nonviolent transition to freedom from the British rule.


In 1884, Tanzania was a German colony and was known as Tanganyika. On the other hand, in 1890 Zanzibar was a British protectorate. Much later in 1918, Tanganyika became a British colony.

In 1947, Tanganyika became a United Nations Trust Territory under the British rule. The climate, topography, geography, geopolitics, and history made Tanganyika the most important territory among the other UN trust territories. After it was grouped under the UN Trust territories, the British felt an increasing pressure when it came to managing political progressions. The British concept of “gradualism” was being threatened at a rapid speed and was completely abandoned during the last couple of years prior to independence. Finally, Tanganyika became independent from the British in May 1961. And at this point of time, Julius Nyerere was appointed as the Prime Minister. Besides, a new constitution was introduced. However, the country got its complete independence on 9 December 1961. On 10 December 1963, Zanzibar received its independence from the United Kingdom. Tanganyika and Zanzibar merged on 26 April 1964 to form the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar. On 29 October 1964, the country was renamed as the United Republic of Tanzania.


The translated version of the national anthem is:

God bless Africa
Bless its leaders
Wisdom, unity and peace
These are our shields
Africa and its people
Bless Africa, Bless Africa
Bless us, the children of Africa
God bless Tanzania
Grant eternal freedom and unity
To its women, men and children
God bless Tanzania and its people
Bless Tanzania, Bless Tanzania
Bless us, the children of Tanzania


A national holiday is observed on 9 December every year in Tanzania. The day begins with parades where youths conduct a march past in front of the President at the Dar es Salaam stadium. Besides, various cultural dances are also organized at the stadium and an aerobatics performance is presented by the air force. Official celebrations are organized at the National Stadium in the presence of the Prime Minister, President, celebrities and government officials. A torch is taken to Mount Kilimanjaro as a mark of liberty and determination for all African nations who have struggled hard for their independence.


  • Prime Minister :

    Mizengo Pinda (2008)

  • President :

    Jakaya Kikwete (2005)

  • Monetary unit :

    Tanzanian shilling

  • Capital :

    Dar es Salaam

  • Religions :

    Christian, Islam

  • Languages :

    Swahili, Arabic, English, several local languages

  • Agriculture :

    sisal, coffee, cotton, tea, pyrethrum, tobacco, cashew nuts, corn, cloves, cassava (tapioca), wheat, fruits, bananas, vegetables; sheep, cattle, goats.

  • Natural resources :

    tin, natural gas, hydropower, iron ore, phosphates, diamonds, coal, gold, gemstones, nickel.

  • Industries :

    agricultural processing (cigarettes, beer, sugar, sisal twine); mining (gold, diamonds, and iron), soda, ash salt; oil refining, cement, wood products, apparel, shoes, fertilizer.

  • Important trading partners :

    Japan, India, Kenya, China, UAE, South Africa, Germany (2012).

  • Ports and harbors :

    Dar es Salaam, Bukoba, Kilwa Masoko, Kigoma, Mtwara, Lindi, Pangani, Mwanza, Wete, Tanga, Zanzibar.

Related Maps