Tanzania Facts

by Vishal Kumar

Official Name Tanzania1 Continent Africa Lat Long -6.43813, 34.955292 Area 364,898 sq mi (945,203 Sq km) Population 55572201 Capital Dodoma Largest City Dar es Salaam Official Languages Swahili, English Major Religion…

Official Name Tanzania1
Continent Africa
Lat Long -6.43813, 34.955292
Area 364,898 sq mi (945,203 Sq km)
Population 55572201
Capital Dodoma
Largest City Dar es Salaam
Official Languages SwahiliEnglish
Major Religion The National Muslim Council of Tanzania supervises the mainland, while the Supreme Muslim Council handles the Muslim affairs in the Islands.The indigenous beliefs of Tanzania confess to a high god, an idea similar to Christianity and Islamic religion.
Form of Government John Pombe Magufuli
President John Pombe Magufuli
Vice President Samia Suluhu
Prime Minister Kassim Majaliwa
Currency Tanzanian shilling (TZS)
GDP $23.333 billion (2011 Est.)
Calling Code 255
Time Zone EAT (UTC+3)
Internet TLD .tz


Important FAQ about Tanzania

Where is Tanzania?

The United Republic of Tanzania is a country in East Africa. The republic is composed of twenty six regions (mikoa), including the autonomous region of Zanzibar. It is bordered by Kenya and Uganda to the north; Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of Congo to the west; and Zambia, Malawi, and Mozambique to the south. The eastern borders of the country lie on the Indian Ocean.

What is the capital of Tanzania?

Located in the center of Tanzania, the national capital of the country is Dodoma. It literally means “it has sunk” in Gogo language. The official name of the city is Dodoma Urban District. It has an estimated population of 324,347.

What is the currency of Tanzania?

Tanzanian shilling is the currency of Tanzania. Its ISO 4217 code is TZS. It is subdivided into 100 senti. The US dollar is also accepted in the region.

Which is the largest city of Tanzania?

Dar es Salam is the largest and the richest city of Tanzania. It is also an administrative province and has three administrative districts: Ilala, Kinondoni and Temeke. It was formerly known as Mzizima. The population of the city is 2,497,940, and it covers a total area of 614.1 square miles. The city is situated on a harbor on the east Indian Ocean coast of Africa.

What is the official language of Tanzania?

Swahili is the official language of Tanzania. It is taught in schools and used in political and social spheres. English is considered the de facto official language. It is used in universities, secondary education and higher courts. Other spoken languages include Gujarati, Portuguese and French.

What is the religion of Tanzania?

The constitution of Tanzania provides freedom of religion. 65% of the population adheres to Christianity, followed by Muslims (32%) and indigenous religious groups(3%).

What is the literacy rate of Tanzania?

Education in Tanzania is compulsory for seven years. Literacy rate of the country is 72%.

What is the national emblem of Tanzania?

The coat of arms of Tanzania depicts a warrior’s shield, which is divided into four portions: the golden portion on the upper part followed by the flag of the country. Underneath the flag is the red portion, below which is the wavy band. On the golden part appears a burning torch and on the red part there are two crossed axes. A hoe stands right in the middle of the shield. The shield rests on the representation of Mount Kilimanjaro. Elephant tusks are held by a man and a woman with clove bush at the feet of the man and cotton bush at the feet of the woman. Below the emblem is a ribbon on which the motto of the country is written in Swahili: “Uhuru na Umoja” (Freedom and Unity).

Who is the political leader of Tanzania?

Tanzania is a unitary presidential democratic republic. The president is the head of both state and government. Executive power is exercised by the government while the legislative power is vested both in the government and parliament.
Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete is the fourth and the current president of Tanzania. He assumed office on December 25, 2005.He is also the chairperson of the African Union. Mizengo Pinda is the current prime minister of Tanzania. He assumed office on February 9, 2008.

When is the National Day of Tanzania celebrated?

The National Day of Tanzania is celebrated on April 26. On this day in 1964, the British rule came to an end and Tanzania became a union of mainland territory of Tanganyika and the islands of Zanzibar.

What is the economy of Tanzania like?

Tanzania’s economy is based on agriculture which provides 75% of the exports and employment. It accounts for more than half of the GDP. The GDP of the country is 57.5 billion dollars. Industry is mostly limited to processing agricultural products and light consumer goods. The largest trade flows are with India, Japan, People’s Republic of China, United Arab Emirates, Netherlands, South Africa and Germany. The country exports gold, coffee, cashew nuts and cotton, while it imports consumer goods, machinery, industrial raw materials and crude oil.

Related Maps