Home > Canada Map > Political Map of Canada

Political Map of Canada

by Vishal Kumar

Canada is situated in northern North America, extending from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific, and up to the Arctic Ocean. Covering a total area of 9,984,670 square kilometers, Canada is the second largest country in the world.

Political Map of Canada


Canada is bordered by the United States to the south and northwest, with Alaska, separated from the rest of the United States.

The border that Canada shares with the United States is the longest land border in the world between just two countries. Canada is comprised of ten provinces and three territories.

Major Cities in Canada:

  • Ottawa
  • Toronto
  • Montreal
  • Edmonton
  • Vancouver
  • Calgary
  • Halifax
  • Victoria
  • Winnipeg

Canada’s capital is Ottawa, located on the south bank of the Ottawa River in southeastern Ontario. With a population of 812,129, it is the fourth largest city in the country. Not far from Ottawa, Toronto is the largest city in Canada. It has an estimated population of 2,503,281.

Provinces of Canada

Provinces Capital Area(km.²) Area(mi.²)
Alberta Edmonton 661,848 255,541
British Columbia Victoria 944,735 364,764
Manitoba Winnipeg 647,797 250,116
New Brunswick Fredericton 72,908 28,150
Newfoundland and Labrador Saint John’s 405,212 156,453
Nova Scotia Halifax 55,284 21,345
Ontario Toronto 1,076,395 415,598
Prince Edward Island Charlottetown 5,660 2,185
Québec Quebec 1,542,056 595,391
Saskatchewan Regina 651,036 251,366

Related Maps