Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / SAARC Countries

SAARC Member Countries

The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) was established on December 8, 1985 to organize and unite the governments of of its seven original members: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka to promote mutual progress and development.

SAARC Member Countries
Description : Map shows the SAARC Member Countries in World Map. Disclaimer

18th SAARC Summit
The upcoming 18th SAARC Summit is scheduled to take place in Kathmandu, the capital of Nepal, from 26-27 November 2014. Since the last summit, which was held in Maldives in 2011, the forthcoming summit is organized after a gap of three years. The motif of the summit is "deeper integration for peace and prosperity," and it will focus on deeper integration, including the free play of market forces, imply liberalization of services, investment, and withdrawal of non-tariff hurdles.
Mahendra Bahadur Pandey, Nepal's Minister for Foreign Affairs has said that the summit would give paramount importance to regional unity and also in achieving “durable peace and prosperity.” He also stressed that the summit will take concomitant actions for uprooting illiteracy by 2030 from the place, giving importance to quality education, strengthening the position of women, generating employment opportunities for youth, etc.


The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation was founded as a movement toward collective progress for the involved nations of South Asia. The organization promoted political cooperation between these strategic nations for the mutual progression of the countries socially, economically, and culturally.

There were seven original members of the SAARC: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Afghanistan later joined the SAARC in 2007 bringing the total number of members up to eight. There are also nine observer states: Australia, China, the European Union, Japan, Iran, Mauritius, Myanmar, South Korea, and the United States.

The idea for the SAARC was proposed on May 2, 1980 by Ziaur Rahman, then president of Bangladesh. The founding countries met for the first time in April 1981, and then in 1985, they created the SAARC Charter. They sought peace, stability, amity, and progress including improving quality of life for all involved nations.


Last Updated : November 26, 2014

  SAARC Summits Dates and Host Cities  
NoDateCountryHostHost leader
1st7–8 December 1985BangladeshDhakaAtaur Rahman Khan
2nd16–17 November 1986IndiaBengaluruJayanth M Gowda
3rd2–4 November 1987NepalKathmanduMarich Man Singh Shrestha
4th29–31 December 1988PakistanIslamabadBenazir Bhutto
5th21–23 November 1990MaldivesMaléMaumoon Abdul Gayoom
6th21 December 1991Sri LankaColomboRanasinghe Premadasa
7th10–11 April 1993BangladeshDhakaKhaleda Zia
8th2–4 May 1995IndiaNew DelhiP V Narasimha Rao
9th12–14 May 1997MaldivesMaléMaumoon Abdul Gayoom
10th29–31 July 1998Sri LankaColomboChandrika Kumaratunga
11th4–6 January 2002NepalKathmanduSher Bahadur Deuba
12th2–6 January 2004PakistanIslamabadZafarullah Khan Jamali
13th12–13 November 2005BangladeshDhakaKhaleda Zia
14th3–4 April 2007IndiaNew DelhiManmohan Singh
15th1–3 August 2008Sri LankaColomboMahinda Rajapaksa
16th28–29 April 2010BhutanThimphuJigme Thinley
17th10–11 November 2011 MaldivesAdduMohammed Nasheed
18th26-27 November 2014 NepalKathmanduSushil Koirala

  Other Links  

Target5.5 Million

Visitors with us

Advertise on

Contact us: +91 9871399017,

Looking for Expert Cartography / GIS Services?

Contact - Kartik Suri (+91- 9910492371 IST)

For all Mapping Needs and Business Queries

Contact - Antoine Maddox (+1 408 637 0064 PST)