US States Map > Map of Wisconsin > Wisconsin County Map

Wisconsin County Map

by Vishul Malik

Wisconsin County Map showing all the 72 Wisconsin counties and their county seats along with the capital city.

Wisconsin County Map

Wisconsin is the twenty-third largest and the twentieth most populated state in the US. The state is situated in the midwest, north-central, and the Great Lakes. Wisconsin is also known as ‘America’s Dairyland since the state is one of the leading dairy producers in the country. The other major sectors of the state are tourism and manufacturing.

Wisconsin Map

Wisconsin has a diverse geography, with parts lying in the state’s western area and the lowlands spanning the shores of Lake Michigan. Illinois surrounds the state to the south, Minnesota to the west, Lake Michigan to the east, Iowa to the southwest, Lake Superior to the north, and Michigan to the northeast.

Wisconsin Counties

The state is segregated into 72 counties. A few notable counties of the region are Adams County, Door County, Milwaukee County, Dane County, and Barron County. The biggest county is Marathon County, Pepin County is the most minor, and Milwaukee County is the most populated one.

Dane County

Situated in the south-central area of Wisconsin, Dane County offers a plethora of opportunities to its visitors, like historical sites, museums, and state parks. Also, the state’s capital, Madison, is based in Dane County.

The county also hosts an annual Dane County Fair. Wisconsin State Capitol, Tyrol Basin, Camp Randall Stadium, Monona Terrace, Cave of the Mounds, Lake Monona, Henry Vilas Zoo, and National Mustard Museum are some other spectacular places of Dane County.

Door County

Door County, an attractive motorcycling destination, is spread over 2370 sq. miles, of which only 482 sq. miles is the land area, and the rest is all water. Door County has a long list of attractive places to boast of 53 Lake Michigan Parks, 19 County Parks, 11 lighthouses, and Five State Parks. It is also a premier destination for kayaking in the midwest.

The Schoolhouse Beach on Washington is one of the world’s five beaches, made up of smooth white limestone instead of sand. Peninsula State Park, American Folklore Theatre, Potawatomi Park, Sherwood Point Light, Alexander Noble House, and Horseshoe Island are other prominent places to visit.

Milwaukee County

Milwaukee County is the most populous county in Wisconsin. With the county seat being Milwaukee City, the county offers numerous visual delights to all its visitors. The Milwaukee Art Museum has more than 30,000 works of art encompassing folk and Haitian art, German Expressionist paintings and prints, and American decorative arts from antiquity to the present. The museum annually serves more than 350,000 visitors.

One of the largest zoos in the nation is the Milwaukee County Zoo, which is spread over 200 acres, housing nearly 2,000 birds, mammals, reptiles, fish, and amphibians in unique habitats. Other notable places in Milwaukee County are Harley-Davidson Museum, Discovery World, Frontier Airlines Center, Marcus Amphitheater, North Point Lighthouse, Gesu Church, and Boerner Botanical Gardens.

Adams County

Adams County in Wisconsin gets its name either from the second president of the US, John Adams, or the sixth president, his son, John Quincy Adams. Founded in 1848, it has a total area of 689 sq. miles, and the county seat is a village called Friendship.

The county has the fourth and the second largest inland lakes in Wisconsin, the Castle Rock and the Petenwell Lakes. Both these places are known for swimming, fishing, and boating activities. Wisconsin Dells, Van Kuren Trail, Quincy bluff, and Go Carts are other prominent places in the county.

Marathon County

Marathon County is the biggest county in the state, with a land area of 1576 sq. miles. Founded in 1807, Marathon is also the oldest county in Wisconsin. The county seat of Marathon is Wausau. Major attractions of the county are Rib Mountain State Park, Wausau School Forest, Athens Fair, Wisconsin Valley Fair, and Silver Creek Orchard.

Barron County

Barron County, with the county seat as Barron City, is spread over 890 sq. miles. Wildwood Resort, Northwood Shores, Crystal Lake Cheese Factory, Barron County Fair, and Pioneer Village Museum are some of its notable places.

Colleges and Universities

Wisconsin has almost eighty-five universities and colleges, recognized by the Carnegie Classification, with the University of Wisconsin – Madison (UW-Madison) being the most significant public post-secondary institution. Other prominent universities and colleges are Marquette University, Western Technical College, Lakeshore Technical College, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee, University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire, Gateway Technical College, and Blackhawk Technical College.

Maps of Wisconsin Counties

Related Maps